Acrobat Music

The Road To Free Jazz - The Early Years 1958-61
The Road To Free Jazz - The Early Years 1958-61

Ornette Coleman
Styles: Jazz
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3245
Ornette Coleman was an innovative and pioneering jazz saxophonist, trumpeter, violinist and bandleader who was one of the prime movers in the "free jazz" movement, a term which was crystallised in his 1961 album "Free Jazz". Born in 1930, he began his career playing R &B before graduating to bebop, but soon found that even the challenging harmonies and chord progressions of that mould-breaking era were too rigid and restrictive for his rapidly evolving musical outlook. This great value 41-track 2-CD set comprises selected tracks from the first five albums of his era, "Something Else!!!" and "Tomorrow Is the Question", recorded for the Contemporary label during 1958 and 1959, and "The Shape of Jazz to Come", "Change of the Century" and "This Is Our Music", recorded for Atlantic during 1959 and 1960. It concludes with complete the 37-minute ensemble improvisation which comprises the entire content of the 1961album "Free Jazz", also for Atlantic, recorded with his "Double Quartet", which comprises Don Cherry, Eric Dolphy and Freddie Hubbard. It is a fascinating musical insight into the musical progress of one of the controversial personalities in modern jazz towards a style of music which, along with the avant garde movement, has pre-occupied critics and commentators over the years.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Jayne Ornette Coleman
2 The Blessing Ornette Coleman
3 Invisible Ornette Coleman
4 Disguise Ornette Coleman
5 Endless Ornette Coleman
6 Tomorrow is the question Ornette Coleman
7 Giggin' Ornette Coleman
8 Rejoicing Ornette Coleman
9 Peace Ornette Coleman
10 Congeniality Ornette Coleman
11 Lonely woman Ornette Coleman
12 Eventually Ornette Coleman
13 Una Muy Bonita Ornette Coleman
14 Free Ornette Coleman
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Change of the century Ornette Coleman
2 Ramblin' Ornette Coleman
3 Blues connotation Ornette Coleman
4 Embraceable you Ornette Coleman
5 Kaleidoscope Ornette Coleman
6 Beauty Is A Rare Thing Ornette Coleman
7 Free Jazz Ornette Coleman
©2008 Acrobat Music