Acrobat Music

Raindrops - The Singles & Albums Collection 1956-62
Raindrops - The Singles & Albums Collection 1956-62

Dee Clark
Styles: Pop, R&B, Soul
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3446
Dee Clark, real name Delecta Clark, was born in Arkansas in 1938 and started out in gospel before recording at the age of 14 with a group called The Hambone Kids. By the mid-50s he was a member of R&B vocal group The Kool Gents, who signed to Vee Jay. He moved on to a solo career in the pop/soul/R&B style, for a while taking over Little Richard’s band when he went into the church, and had a string of hits in the late ‘50s and early’ 60s in the pop and R&B charts, the biggest a pop No. 2 with “Raindrops”. This 55-track 2-CD set comprises the A & B sides of singles from these years by The Kool Gents, The Delegates and Dee Clark on the Vee Jay, Falcon and Abner labels, plus selected tracks from his Abner albums “Dee Clark” and “How About That”, and his Vee Jay albums “You’re Lookin’ Good” and “Hold On….It’s Dee Clark”. It features all his twelve chart entries from this era, including the US No. 2 “Raindrops”, and the Top 40 hits “Nobody But You”, “Just Keep It Up” (also a UK Top 30 hit), “Hey Little Girl”, “How About That” and “Your Friends”, most of which also made the R&B Top 10. He was a stylish and versatile performer, his recordings transcending the genres, enabling him to handle Great American Songbook classics alongside soul rockers. This set is a substantial and entertaining showcase for those talents.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 This Is The Night Kool Gents
2 Do Ya Do Kool Gents
3 You Know Kool Gents
4 I Can't Help Myself Kool Gents
5 The Convention The Delegates
6 Mother's Son The Delegates
7 I'm Gonna Be Glad The Delegates
8 Gloria Dee Clark
9 Kangaroo Hop Dee Clark
10 Seven Nights Dee Clark
11 24 Boy Friends Dee Clark
12 Oh Little Girl Dee Clark
13 Wondering Dee Clark
14 Nobody But You Dee Clark
15 When I Call On You Dee Clark
16 Just Keep It Up Dee Clark
17 Whispering Grass Dee Clark
18 Hey Little Girl Dee Clark
19 If It Wasn't For Love Dee Clark
20 How About That Dee Clark
21 Blues Get Off My Shoulder Dee Clark
22 At My Front Door Dee Clark
23 Cling-A-Ling Dee Clark
24 You're Looking Good Dee Clark
25 Your Friends Dee Clark
26 Because I Love You Dee Clark
27 Raindrops Dee Clark
28 I Want To Love You Dee Clark
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Don't Walk Away From Me Dee Clark
2 You're Telling Our Secrets Dee Clark
3 You Are Like The Wind Dee Clark
4 Drums In My Heart Dee Clark
5 Dance On Little Girl Dee Clark
6 Fever Dee Clark
7 I'm Going Back To School Dee Clark
8 I Can't Dream Dee Clark
9 Lucky Me Dee Clark
10 Nature Boy Dee Clark
11 Count On Me Dee Clark
12 They're Talkin' Dee Clark
13 I Love You Darling Dee Clark
14 Foggy Day Dee Clark
15 Silently Lovin' You Dee Clark
16 Moonlite In Vermont Dee Clark
17 The Time Has Come Dee Clark
18 Come To California Dee Clark
19 Baby, What You Want Me To Do Dee Clark
20 Just Like A Fool Dee Clark
21 What'd I Say Dee Clark
22 Hold On Dee Clark
23 Portrait Of My Love Dee Clark
24 Cupid Dee Clark
25 Always Together Dee Clark
26 Cindy Dee Clark
27 What Kind Of Fool Dee Clark
©2008 Acrobat Music