Acrobat Music

Complete Releases 1958-62
Complete Releases 1958-62

Frankie Ford
Styles: Pop, R&B, Rock 'n' roll
Catalogue Number: ACMCD4406
Frankie Ford was one of the artists often referred to as being typical of “swamp rock” – the style of R&B and rock ’n’ roll that was associated with Louisiana and New Orleans during the late 1950s. Born in Gretna, Louisiana, across the Mississippi from New Orleans, he was playing in a band when he was spotted by an artist manager who took him to Johnny Vincent’s Ace label in Jackson, Miss. For his second release, Vincent had him record the vocal for Huey ‘Piano’ Smith’s song “Sea Cruise” for which Smith had recorded the backing track, but was now away on tour. The record was a Top 20 pop and R&B hit, and Ford followed up with several smaller hits, before signing to the Imperial label. This 30-track CD comprises the A&B sides of all his singles on Ace, Vin and Imperial from these years, plus the tracks from his Ace album “Let’s Take A Sea Cruise” not otherwise released on singles. It also includes his single on Vin with Mac Rebennack (Dr. John) as Morgus & The 3 Ghouls. It features his Top 20 pop and R&B hit “Sea Cruise” and his other career chart entries “Alimony”, “Time After Time”, “You Talk Too Much” and “Seventeen”. He was an artist who very much typified the musical atmosphere of New Orleans in that era, and this is a comprehensive overview of his output during these years.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Cheatin' Woman Frankie Ford
2 Last One To Cry Frankie Ford
3 Sea Cruise Frankie Ford
4 Roberta Frankie Ford
5 Alimony Frankie Ford
6 Can't Tell My Heart (What To Do) Frankie Ford
7 Time After Time Frankie Ford
8 I Want To Be Your Man Frankie Ford
9 Chinatown Frankie Ford
10 What's Goin' On Frankie Ford
11 Morgus The Magnificent Morgus & The 3 Ghouls
12 The Lonely Boy Morgus & The 3 Ghouls
13 You Talk Too Much Frankie Ford
14 If You've Got Troubles Frankie Ford
15 My Southern Belle Frankie Ford
16 The Groom Frankie Ford
17 Seventeen Frankie Ford
18 Dog House Frankie Ford
19 Love Don't Love Nobody Frankie Ford
20 Saturday Night Fish Fry Frankie Ford
21 Let 'Em Talk Frankie Ford
22 What Happened To You Frankie Ford
23 A Man Only Does (What A Woman Makes Him Do) Frankie Ford
24 They Said It Couldn't Be Done Frankie Ford
25 Danny Boy Frankie Ford
26 It Must Be Jelly Frankie Ford
27 Watchdog Frankie Ford
28 Your Game Is Over Frankie Ford
29 I'm Worried About You Frankie Ford
30 Hour Of Need Frankie Ford
©2008 Acrobat Music