Acrobat Music

The 1953 British Hit Parade
The 1953 British Hit Parade

Various Artists
Styles: British Hit Parades
Catalogue Number: ACTRCD9000
At the beginning of 1953 the British Hit Parade as compiled and published by The New Musical Express, one of Britain?s several weekly music magazines, was all of 6 weeks old. The chart was launched the week of November 15th 1952. (See Acrobat CD ACRCG711?The First British Hit Parade, which contains every disc that charted until the last week of 1952). This 3CD set comprises every record that entered the UK chart from January 3rd ? December 19th 1953 in chronological order of first entry with the exception of multiple versions of the same song where we have separated the different versions for ease of listening.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Faith Can Move Mountains Nat King Cole
2 Make It Soon Tony Brent
3 Outside Of Heaven Eddie Fisher
4 The Glow-Worm Mills Brothers
5 Faith Can Move Mountains Jimmy Young
6 Don't Let The Stars Get In Your Eyes Perry Como
7 Got You On My MInd Tony Brent
8 Vanessa Ted Heath
9 Now Al Martino
10 Everything I Have Eddie Fisher
11 She Wears Red Feathers Guy Mitchell
12 Broken Wings Stargazers
13 Wonderful Copenhagen Danny Kaye
14 Why Don't You Believe Me Joni James
15 How Much Is That Doggie In The Window Lita Roza
16 All The Time And Everywhere Dickie Valentine
17 Girl In The Wood Frankie Laine
18 Night Train Buddy Morrow
19 Broken WIngs Art & Dotty Todd
20 How Much Is That Doggie In The Window Patti Page
21 Oh Happy Day Johnston Brothers
22 Little Red Monkey Frank Chacksfield
23 I Believe Frankie Laine
24 Ma Says Pa Says Doris Day & Johnnie Ray
25 Somebody Stole My Gal Johnnie Ray
26 Full Time Job Doris Day & Johnnie Ray
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Pretty Little Black Eyed Susie Guy Mitchell
2 Side By Side Kay Starr
3 Broken Wings Dickie Valentine
4 Pretend Nat King Cole
5 Downhearted Eddie Fisher
6 In A Golden Coach Billy Cotton
7 Tell Me A Story Frankie Laine & Jimmy Boyd
8 Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me Muriel Smith
9 Coronation Rag Winifred Atwell
10 Terry's Theme From "Limelight" Ron Goodwin
11 I'm Walking Behind You Eddie Fisher & Sally Sweetland
12 Terry's Theme From "Limelight" Frank Chacksfield
13 The Song From Moulin Rouge Mantovani
14 In A Golden Coach Dickie Valentine
15 Windsor Waltz Vera Lynn
16 I'm Walking Behind You Dorothy Squires
17 Hot Toddy Ted Heath
18 Rachel Al Martino
19 Bushel And A Peck Vivian Blaine
20 Seven Lonely Days Gisele MacKenzie
21 Let's Walk That A Way Doris Day & Johnnie Ray
22 Say You're Mine Again Jane Hutton
23 Can't I Nat King Cole
24 Eternally Jimmy Young
25 Look At That Girl Guy Mitchell
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Where The Wind Blows Frankie Laine
2 Mother Nature And Father Time Nat King Cole
3 Kiss Dean Martin
4 Flirtation Waltz Winifred Atwell
5 Bridge Of Sighs David Whitfield
6 Hey Joe Frankie Laine
7 Answer Me David Whitfield
8 Swedish Rhapsody Mantovani
9 Poppa Piccolino Diana Decker
10 Dragnet Ted Heath
11 Answer Me Frankie Laine
12 Chicka Boom Guy Mitchell
13 Wish You Were Here Eddie Fisher
14 Vaya Con Dios Les Paul & Mary Ford
15 Crying In The Chapel Lee Lawrence
16 I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus Jimmy Boyd
17 Dragnet Ray Anthony
18 I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus The Beverley Sisters
19 Let's Have A Party (Medley) Winifred Atwell
20 Swedish Rhapsody Ray Martin & His Orchestra
21 Ricochet Joan Regan
22 Rags To Riches David Whitfield
23 Oh Mein Papa Eddie Calvert
24 I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus Billy Cotton
25 Cloud Lucky Seven Guy Mitchell
©2008 Acrobat Music