Acrobat Music

The 1961 British Hit Parade: The B Sides Part 3
The 1961 British Hit Parade: The B Sides Part 3

Various Artists
Styles: British Hit Parades
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7042

Released 13th February 2012

Acrobat Music’s series of British Hit Parade collections has become an essential annual purchase for a significant number of collectors and enthusiasts who wish to hear and own every record that entered the British record charts during each year. This year, for the first time, and as the result of suggestions from several of our regular collectors of the series, we are presenting parallel collections to the main British Hit Parade releases comprising the ‘B’ sides of all the tracks that appear in the main set. The only exceptions are where the original hit was a double ‘A’ side, where both sides charted, as a result of which both of the tracks appear in the main Hit Parade collection. With this caveat, Part Three includes the original ‘B’ sides of every record that entered the charts mentioned between 7th September and the end of the year in chronological order of chart entry, and they make for truly eclectic and fascinating entertainment. The story of how ‘B’ sides come to be what they are is a fascinating one and varies greatly from record to record. Some featured songs that were written by either the producer, the artist’s manager or someone else with sufficient influence to ensure that if the ‘A’ side were a hit, they would collect 50% of the publishing income from the sales. Others were, of course, complete throwaways, dashed off in the last 10 minutes of a session purely as make-weights. In contrast, some started life as the intended ‘A’ side, only to be overshadowed as promotion people or radio DJs spotted the potential of the ‘B’ side. The fascination is that, in most cases, with the passage of time, we will never know the true story, and the tracks will simply stand to be judged on their merits or otherwise. Whatever the case, they will very often provide collectors with a piece of the artist’s work that they have never heard before, and the majority, we suspect, will never have been available on CD before. We are sure that many purchasers of the main sets will be keen to acquire the ‘B’ sides to ensure the completeness of their collection.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Open Your Arms Billy Fury
2 So Close To Heaven Ral Donner
3 Too Many Rules Connie Francis
4 Don't Gild The Lily, Lily Del Shannon
5 I'm Telling You Eden Kane
6 What Am I Saying The Viscounts
7 My Blue Heaven Duane Eddy
8 Starlight, Starbright Linda Scott
9 I Only Have Eyes For You Cleo Laine
10 Candy Man Roy Orbison
11 Chickens Harry Belafonte
12 It's Just A House Without You Brook Benton
13 Echo Four-Two The Laurie Johnson Orchestra
14 Kiss 'N' Run Helen Shapiro
15 The Curse Of An Aching Heart Frank Sinatra
16 Ain't Gonna Wash For A Week Eddie Hodges
17 Maria Della Montagna Ping Ping & Al Verlane
18 Countin' Colours In A Rainbow Nina And Frederick
19 I'll Dream Of You Matt Monro
20 You Took My Love For Granted John Leyton
21 Am I The Guy Tony Orlando
22 She's My Girl Charlie Drake
23 It's Been A Long Long Time Nina And Frederick
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Souvenir Of Mexico Ben E. King
2 Caravan (Part 2) Duane Eddy
3 Charmaine Cha Cha Ted Heath And His Music
4 Sorrow Tomorrow Bobby Darin
5 What's The Matter Mike Berry With The Outlaws
6 The Danger Zone Ray Charles And His Orchestra
7 Bonny Scotland Karl Denver
8 Cobbler Cobbler Hayley Mills
9 Give Me My Ranch Joe Loss And His Orchestra
10 I Won't Go Huntin' With You Jake (But I'll Go Chasin' Wimmin Jimmy Dean
11 Bashful Bob Bobby Vee
12 A Help-Each-Other Romance Adam Faith
13 Blue Rondo A La Turk The Dave Brubeck Quartet
14 Five Foot Two, Eyes Of Blue Shane Fenton and the Fentones
15 I Want Someone Dick And Deedee
16 Don't Forget Carol Deene
17 Walk Bach To Me Bobby Darin And His Orchestra
18 A Weaver Of Dreams Danny Williams
19 Swing Down Chariot The Four Preps
20 Girl After Girl Troy Shondell
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Runaway Girl Dion
2 Throwin' Kisses Sue Thompson
3 Melodie D'Amore The Moontrekkers
3 Rachel Frankie Vaughan
4 My Mother's Eyes Kenny Ball and his Jazzmen
5 The Hellions (From the film 'The Hellions') Marty Wilde
6 Come With Me Doug Sheldon
7 It Can't Be Wrong Ronnie Hilton
8 With All My Love Petula Clark
9 Peace Pipe (From the film 'The Young Ones') The Shadows
10 Star Of Hope The Springfields
11 Our Last Embrace Jimmy Crawford
12 A Wonder Like You Ricky Nelson
13 Cappuccina Nat King Cole
14 Anybody But Me Brenda Lee
15 The Secret Gene McDaniels
16 I Love Girls The Brook Brothers
17 Who Are We? Shirley Bassey
18 Oh How I Miss You Tonight Jim Reeves
19 Riverside Blues Terry Lightfoot's New Orleans Jazzmen
20 All My Life The Dale Sisters
21 That's My Desire The Lettermen
22 A Foggy Day Frank Sinatra
23 Take My Lips Mr. Acker Bilk With The Leon Young String Chorale
24 Forgotten Dreams Russ Conway
25 Little Girl I Love You The G-Clefs
26 Pocketful of Hearts Eddie Cochran
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 Wake The Town And Tell The People Dinah Washington
2 Rockin' Bicycle Fats Domino
3 Tip Toe Through The Tulips Helen Shapiro
4 After You've Gone Helen Shapiro
5 (If I'm Dreaming) Just Let Me Dream Pat Boone
6 The Answer To Everything Del Shannon
7 Whisper Song The Girls
8 The Black Bottom The Temperance Seven
9 The Girl With The Wistful Eyes Rose Brennan
10 Cottonfields The Highwaymen
11 Breakfast At Tiffany's Henry Mancini, His Orchestra And Chorus
12 Quite A Beat Sandy Nelson
13 Sleepless Nights Billy Fury
14 Mrs Mills Medley (Part 2 ) Mrs Mills
15 James Darren
16 I'm Falling In Love With You Tonight Connie Francis
17 I Am Ricky Stevens
18 Don't Lead Me On Neil Sedaka
19 Irresistible You Bobby Darin
20 Walkin' With My Angel Bobby Vee
21 Tina The Tokens
22 Image (Part 2) Hank Levine And His Orchestra
23 How Now Brown Cow Lionel Bart
24 Six White Horses John Leyton
25 Bobbin' Along Bob Wallis And His Storyville Jazzmen
26 Darling Jane John D. Loudermilk
©2008 Acrobat Music