Acrobat Music

His Complete Embassy Singles 1958-60
His Complete Embassy Singles 1958-60

Johnny Worth
Styles: Pop
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3077
The Embassy label occupied a unique niche in the British record industry of the ‘50s & ‘60s, releasing cover versions of current chart hits sold exclusively through Woolworths, and these recordings are now very collectable in their own right. Acrobat began its release of Embassy material last month with the complete 1960 and 1961 singles collections, and this month we are starting to look at individual artists who recorded for the label. Johnny Worth was a popular singer in the Oscar Rabin Band and then with The Raindrops, the vocal group he formed that also included Vince Hill. He also became, during these years, a hugely successful songwriter, composing (mainly under the nom-de-plume of Les Van Dyke) a string of hits for Adam Faith and Eden Kane. This collection, comprising every track Johnny recorded for Embassy from 1958 to 1960, includes his own versions of four of the hits he wrote for Adam Faith – in many ways they could be regarded as the “original” versions! This set has been put together with Johnny’s involvement, and he has contributed the very entertaining and detailed booklet notes, giving the set an added authenticity. Johnny went on to write and produce long after his Embassy career ended, writing the big Jimmy Helms hit “Gonne Make You An offer You Can’t Refuse” and is still writing actively in 2012. This collection offers a fascinating insight into a relatively undiscovered area of British pop.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Splish Splash Johnny Worth
2 When Johnny Worth
3 King Creole Johnny Worth
4 Little Star Johnny Worth
5 Ginger Bread Johnny Worth
6 Western Movies Johnny Worth
7 Tom Dooley Johnny Worth
8 Chantilly Lace Johnny Worth
9 It’s Only Make Believe Johnny Worth
10 Baby Face Johnny Worth
11 I Got Stung Johnny Worth
12 (All of a Sudden) My Heart Sings Johnny Worth
13 High School Confidential Johnny Worth
14 A Pub With No Beer Johnny Worth
15 Donna Johnny Worth
16 By the Light of the Silvery Moon Johnny Worth
17 It Doesn’t Matter Anymore Johnny Worth
18 A Fool Such As I Johnny Worth
19 Idle on Parade Johnny Worth
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Fort Worth Jail Johnny Worth
2 Mean Streak Johnny Worth
3 Living Doll Johnny Worth
4 Lonely Boy Johnny Worth
5 Just a Little Too Much Johnny Worth
6 Sal's Got a Sugar Lip Johnny Worth
7 Sea of Love Johnny Worth
8 What Do You Want to Make Those Eyes At Me For Johnny Worth
9 Oh Carol Johnny Worth
10 What Do You Want Johnny Worth
11 Pretty Blue Eyes Johnny Worth
12 Way Down Yonder in New Orleans Johnny Worth
13 A Voice in the Wilderness Johnny Worth
14 Poor Me Johnny Worth
15 Handy Man Johnny Worth
16 Footsteps Johnny Worth
17 Someone Else’s Baby Johnny Worth
18 How About That Johnny Worth
19 Nine Times Out of Ten Johnny Worth
©2008 Acrobat Music