Acrobat Music

America's Greatest Hits 1961
America's Greatest Hits 1961

Various Artists
Styles: America's Greatest Hits
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7047
This release continues the series of “America’s Greatest Hits” which over the years has provided annual collections of the biggest hits of each year in the Billboard pop charts. The collection for 1961 is an excellent value 107-track 4-CD set which includes every record that entered in the Top 10 of the Billboard Hot 100 during the year. Many of the tracks are, inevitably, well-known hits, which went on to score chart success in the UK, but there are no less than 45 tracks which did not make it into the UK charts despite their major US success, including tracks by well-known artists alongside more obscure hits by artists that never saw the light of day in the UK, from the classic “Angel Baby” by Rosie & The Originals to the oddity of a Scandinavian version of “Apache”. The whole collection is a highly entertaining trawl through the American music scene of the times, a rather different musical experience from listening to collections from the UK charts, which naturally feature a high proportion of home-grown talent. It captures the essence of the strands of musical creativity that were active at the time, from Brill Building producers to the Twist craze, plus country sounds from Nashville and some fine early soul. As ever, it includes comprehensive booklet notes with commentary on every track as well as the distinctive series packaging. It is likely to appeal to the many collectors who enjoy these completest anthologies, and will hopefully provide useful programming for the specialist radio programmes which feature pop nostalgia.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Corinne Corinna Ray Peterson
2 Angel Baby Rosie and the Originals
3 Will You Love Me Tomorrow Shirelles
4 Rubber Ball Bobby Vee
5 Calcutta Lawrence Welk
6 Shop Around The Miracles
7 Calendar Girl Neil Sedaka
8 Emotions Brenda Lee
9 My Empty Arms Jackie Wilson
10 Pony Time Chubby Checker
11 There's a Moon Out Tonight The Capris
12 Dedicated to the One I Love The Shirelles
13 Wheels Stringalongs
14 Surrender Elvis Presley
15 Don't Worry Marty Robbins
16 Where the Boys Are Connie Francis
17 Ebony Eyes Everly Brothers
18 Baby Sittin' Boogie Buzz Clifford
19 Spanish Harlem Ben E. King
20 Apache Jorgen Ingmann & His Guitar
21 Walk Right Back Everly Brothers
22 Blue Moon The Marcels
23 Gee Whiz Look At His Eyes Carla Thomas
24 On the Rebound Floyd Cramer
25 Runaway Del Shannon
26 But I Do Clarence Frogman Henry
27 Mother-In-Law Ernie K. Doe
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 A Hundred Pounds of Clay Gene McDaniels
2 Asia Minor Kokomo
3 I've Told Every Little Star Linda Scott
4 You Can Depend on Me Brenda Lee
5 Take Good Care of Her Adam Wade
6 One Mint Julep Ray Charles
7 Portrait of My Love Steve Lawrence
8 Daddy's Home Shep & The Limelites
9 Travellin' Man Ricky Nelson
10 Mama Said The Shirelles
11 Running Scared Roy Orbison
12 Breaking in a Brand New Broken Heart Connie Francis
13 Hello Mary Lou Ricky Nelson
14 I Feel So Bad Elvis Presley
15 Tragedy The Fleetwoods
16 Stand By Me Ben E. King
17 Moody River Pat Boone
18 Raindrops Dee Clark
19 The Writing on the Wall Adam Wade
20 Every Beat of My Heart The Pips
21 Quarter to Three U.S. Bonds
22 Boll Weevil Song Brook Benton
23 Tossin ' and Turnin' Bobby Lewis
24 Those Oldies But Goodies Little Caesar and The Romans
25 Yellow Bird Arthur Lyman Group
26 Dance on Little Girl Paul Anka
27 Hats Off to Larry Del Shannon
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 San Antonio Rose Floyd Cramer
2 I Like It Like That Part 1 Chris Kenner
3 Dum Dum Brenda Lee
4 Together Connie Francis
5 Let's Twist Again Chubby Checker
6 Last Night Mar-Keys
7 Pretty Little Angel Eyes Curtis Lee
8 Wooden Heart Joe Dowell
9 Michael The Highwaymen
10 School Is Out U.S. Bonds
11 You Don't Know What You've Got Ral Donner
12 Don't Bet Money Honey Linda Scott
13 Hurt Timi Yuro
14 Take Good Care of My Baby Bobby Vee
15 My True Story The Jive Five
16 As If I Didn't Know Adam Wade
17 Does Your Chewing Gum Lose Its Flavour Lonnie Donegan
18 Who Put the Bomp Barry Mann
19 Little Sister Elvis Presley
20 His Latest Flame Elvis Presley
21 Crying Roy Orbison
22 Without You Johnny Tillotson
23 One Track Mind Bobby Lewis
24 When We Get Married The Dreamlovers
25 The Mountain's High Dick And Deedee
26 Mexico Bob Moore & His Orchestra
27 Hit the Road Jack Ray Charles
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 You Must Have Been a Beautiful Baby Bobby Darin
2 Bristol Stomp The Dovells
3 Runaround Sue Dion
4 Let's Get Together Hayley Mills
5 Sad Movies Sue Thompson
6 Big Bad John Jimmy Dean
7 Ya Ya Lee Dorsey
8 This Time Troy Shondell
9 I Love How You Love Me The Paris Sisters
10 The Fly Chubby Checker
11 Fool No. 1 Brenda Lee
12 Tower of Strength Gene McDaniels
13 Please Mr. Postman The Marvelettes
14 Goodbye Cruel World James Darren
15 Heartaches The Marcels
16 Crazy Patsy Cline
17 The Twist Chubby Checker
18 Walk on By Leroy Van Dyke
19 I Understand The G-Clefs
20 The Lion Sleeps Tonight The Tokens
21 Run to Him Bobby Vee
22 Tonight Ferrante And Teicher
23 Let There Be Drums Sandy Nelson
24 Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen Neil Sedaka
25 Peppermint Twist Joey Dee and the Starliters
26 Can't Help Falling in Love Elvis Presley
©2008 Acrobat Music