Acrobat Music

The Complete Singles and EPs As & Bs 1956-62
The Complete Singles and EPs As & Bs 1956-62

Neil Sedaka
Styles: Pop
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3112
Neil Sedaka was one of the most successful and ubiquitous songwriters of the late ‘50s and early ‘60s, composing hits for artists like Connie Francis and Jimmy Clanton with his writing partner Howard Greenfield from their base in the legendary Brill Building in New York. However, he achieved an even higher profile as an interpreter of his own songs, rattling up a string of landmark classics like “Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen”, “Breaking Up Is Hard To Do”, which was a US No. 1, and “Oh Carol” (his paean to fellow Brill Building writer Carole King), and he was every bit as popular in the UK and around the world as he was in the USA. This 2-CD set includes the A & B sides of every single he released, including collectable tracks he recorded for other labels before he joined RCA, along with tracks which were included on the EPs which were released in different configurations around the world. It includes, interestingly, his own recording of “Stupid Cupid” which was a No. 1 success for Connie Francis. The collection plots his concentrated and highly successful early career up to 1962 before his style was overtaken by the British Invasion and he reinvented himself in the 1970s as a noted singer-songwriter. It’s a marvellous slice of top class rock ‘n’ roll era pop, with some examples of his distinctive writing and performing talents which many fans and collectors will not have heard before.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 While I Dream Neil Sedaka & The Tokens
2 I Love My Baby Neil Sedaka & The Tokens
3 Laura Lee Neil Sedaka
4 Snowtime Neil Sedaka
5 Ring-A-Rockin' Neil Sedaka
6 Fly, Don't Fly On Me Neil Sedaka
7 Oh, Delilah! Neil Sedaka with The Marvels
8 Neil's Twist The Marvels
9 The Diary Neil Sedaka
10 No Vacancy Neil Sedaka
11 I Go Ape Neil Sedaka
12 Moon Of Gold Neil Sedaka
13 Crying My Heart Out For You Neil Sedaka
14 You Gotta Learn Your Rhythm And Blues Neil Sedaka
15 Oh! Carol Neil Sedaka
16 One Way Ticket (To The Blues) Neil Sedaka
17 Stairway To Heaven Neil Sedaka
18 Forty Winks Away Neil Sedaka
19 You Mean Everything To Me Neil Sedaka
20 Run Samson Run Neil Sedaka
21 Calendar Girl Neil Sedaka
22 The Same Old Fool Neil Sedaka
23 Little Devil Neil Sedaka
24 I Must Be Dreaming Neil Sedaka
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Sweet Little You Neil Sedaka
2 I Found My World In You Neil Sedaka
3 Happy Birthday, Sweet Sixteen Neil Sedaka
4 Don't Lead Me On Neil Sedaka
5 King Of Clowns Neil Sedaka
6 Walk With Me Neil Sedaka
7 Breaking Up Is Hard To Do Neil Sedaka
8 As Long As I Live Neil Sedaka
9 Next Door To An Angel Neil Sedaka
10 I Belong To You Neil Sedaka
11 (Stop!) You're Knocking Me Out! Neil Sedaka
12 I Waited Too Long Neil Sedaka
13 Stupid Cupid Neil Sedaka
14 All I Need Is You Neil Sedaka
15 I Ain't Hurtin' No More Neil Sedaka
16 Another Sleepless Night Neil Sedaka
17 Going Home To Mary Lou Neil Sedaka
18 The Girl For Me Neil Sedaka
19 What Am I Gonna Do Neil Sedaka
20 Fallin' Neil Sedaka
21 Circulate Neil Sedaka
22 We Kiss In A Shadow Neil Sedaka
23 Nothing Ever Changes My Love For You Neil Sedaka
©2008 Acrobat Music