Acrobat Music

The Very Best of Joni James 1951-62 - All the Hits & More
The Very Best of Joni James 1951-62 - All the Hits & More

Joni James
Styles: Easy Listening, Pop
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3155
Joni James was a hugely successful American recording artist of the 1950s and ‘60s, and was one of the few singers who were able to maintain the momentum of her career through from the middle-of-the-road pop era of the early ‘50s through into the post-rock ‘n’ roll era of the later decade and beyond. So popular was she in the early ‘50s that she twice had four records in the Top 10 simultaneously. She brought country material into the pop chart, making the Top 5 with “Your Cheatin’ Heart” while its composer, Hank Williams, was topping the country chart, and she helped introduce the “concept” album with her first LP “Let There Be Love”. Indeed, she was one of the first artists to concentrate on the album market, successfully releasing at least four a year through the ‘50s, including her “100 Strings & Joni” series, recorded at London’s Abbey Road studios. She suddenly retired from the business in the early ‘60s to look after her seriously ill husband, but has returned to performing in recent decades. This great value 54-track collection focuses on her singles, and includes all the 40 or more A and B sides which made one or other configuration of the charts, plus selected other A sides, including tracks which came from the then current album releases. It’s a highly entertaining showcase for an artist who has perhaps not received the global recognition she merits.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Let There Be Love Joni James
2 You Belong To Me Joni James
3 Why Don't You Believe Me? Joni James
4 Purple Shades Joni James
5 You're My Everything Joni James
6 Have You Heard? Joni James
7 Wishing Ring Joni James
8 Your Cheatin' Heart Joni James
9 I'll Be Waiting For You Joni James
10 Almost Always Joni James
11 Is It Any Wonder Joni James
12 My Love, My Love Joni James
13 You're Fooling Someone Joni James
14 I'll Never Stand In Your Way Joni James
15 Why Can't I Joni James
16 Nina Noni Joni James
17 Maybe Next Time Joni James
18 Am I In Love Joni James
19 In A Garden Of Roses Joni James
20 Every Day Joni James
21 Mama Don't Cry At My Wedding Joni James
22 Pa Pa Pa Joni James
23 When We Come Of Age Joni James
24 The Moment I Saw You Joni James
25 Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas Joni James
26 How Important Can It Be? Joni James
27 Is This the End of the Line Joni James
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 When You Wish Upon A Star Joni James
2 You Are My Love Joni James
3 My Believing Heart Joni James
4 Don't Tell Me Not To Love You Joni James
5 I Woke Up Crying Joni James
6 Give Us This Day Joni James
7 How Lucky You Are Joni James
8 Love Letters Joni James
9 Danny Boy Joni James
10 Only Trust Your Heart Joni James
11 Summer Love Joni James
12 There Goes My Heart Joni James
13 There Must Be A Way Joni James
14 I Still Get A Thrill Joni James
15 I Still Get Jealous Joni James
16 Are You Sorry? Joni James
17 Little Things Mean A Lot Joni James
18 I Laughed At Love Joni James
19 I Need You Now One Hundred Voices...One Hundred Strings and Joni
20 We Know Joni James
21 My Last Date (With You) Joni James
22 Be My Love Joni James
23 I Gave My Love Joni James
24 I Almost Lost My Mind Joni James
25 Tender and True Joni James
26 You Are My Sunshine Joni James
27 Anyone But Her Joni James
©2008 Acrobat Music