Acrobat Music

The Complete RCA Singles As & Bs 1953-62
The Complete RCA Singles As & Bs 1953-62

Skeeter Davis
Styles: Country
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3183
Country star Skeeter Davis enjoyed a chart career that lasted nearly a quarter of a century from the early ‘50s through to 1976, her personality and the quality of her voice enabling her to successfully adapt to the changing idioms within the genre. Coming to prominence in the pop charts as she did with the iconic hit “The End Of The World”, many fans may well be unaware of the dues that she paid before that major success which saw her almost top the US pop charts. By the time that classic record was released towards the end of 1962 – it is in fact the last single to be featured in this collection - she had already had a significant career focused purely on the country market, recording initially with her friend Bette Jack Davis as The Davis Sisters and then, after a break of a couple of years, resuming her career as a solo artist in 1958. This great value 61-track 2-CD set comprises the A and B side of every single she released on RCA from her 1953 debut as part of The Davis Sisters and then as a solo artist through to the end of 1962, plus seven bonus tracks selected from her two solo albums from the period “I’ll Sing You A Song And Harmonise Too” and “Here’s The Answer”, the latter trading on her success with “answer” records like her debut solo hit “Lost To A Geisha Girl”, and the Top 5 hits “(I Can't Help You) I'm Falling Too”, and “My Last Date With You”. It features her 1953 debut country No. 1 as The Davis Sisters “I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know”, plus her twelve solo hits during the period, including the Top 10 successes “Set Him Free”, “Optimistic” and “Where I Ought To Be”, and ending with the classic “End of The World”. It’s a thorough overview of her first decade as a recording artist, which set the scene for a long and successful career.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know The Davis Sisters
2 Rock-A-Bye Boogie The Davis Sisters
3 You're Gone The Davis Sisters
4 Sorrow And Pain The Davis Sisters
5 Takin' Time Out For Tears The Davis Sisters
6 Gotta Get A-Goin' The Davis Sisters
7 You Weren't Ashamed To Kiss Me Last Night The Davis Sisters
8 Foggy Mountain Top The Davis Sisters
9 Show Me The Davis Sisters
10 Just Like Me The Davis Sisters
11 The Christmas Boogie The Davis Sisters
12 Tomorrow I'll Cry The Davis Sisters
13 Everlovin' The Davis Sisters
14 Tomorrow's Just Another Day To Cry The Davis Sisters
15 Fiddle Diddle Boogie The Davis Sisters
16 Come Back To Me The Davis Sisters
17 I'll Get Him Back The Davis Sisters
18 I've Closed The Door The Davis Sisters
19 Baby Be Mine The Davis Sisters
20 It's The Girl Who Gets The Blame The Davis Sisters
21 Don't Take Him For Granted The Davis Sisters
22 Blues For Company The Davis Sisters
23 Lonely And Blue The Davis Sisters
24 Lying Brown Eyes The Davis Sisters
25 He Left His Heart With Me Skeeter Davis
26 Don't Let Your Lips Say Yes Skeeter Davis
27 Lost To A Geisha Girl Skeeter Davis
28 I'm Going Steady With A Heartache Skeeter Davis
29 Walk Softly Darling Skeeter Davis
30 I Need You All The Time Skeeter Davis
31 Wave Bye Bye Skeeter Davis
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 I Forgot More Than You'll Ever Know Skeeter Davis
2 I Ain't A-Talkin' Skeeter Davis
3 Slave Skeeter Davis
4 Set Him Free Skeeter Davis
5 The Devil's Doll Skeeter Davis
6 Homebreaker Skeeter Davis
7 Give Me Death Skeeter Davis
8 Am I That Easy To Forget Skeeter Davis
9 Wishful Thinking Skeeter Davis
10 (I Can't Help You) I'm Falling Too Skeeter Davis
11 No, Never Skeeter Davis
12 My Last Date (With You) Skeeter Davis
13 Someone I'd Like To Forget Skeeter Davis
14 The Hand You're Holding Now Skeeter Davis
15 Someday Someday Skeeter Davis
16 Optimistic Skeeter Davis
17 Blueberry Hill Skeeter Davis
18 Where I Ought To Be Skeeter Davis
19 Something Precious Skeeter Davis
20 The Little Music Box Skeeter Davis
21 The Final Step Skeeter Davis
22 The End Of The World Skeeter Davis
23 Somebody Loves You Skeeter Davis
24 The One You Slip Around With Skeeter Davis
25 Just When I Needed You Skeeter Davis
26 Your Cheatin' Heart Skeeter Davis
27 Chained To A Memory Skeeter Davis
28 He'll Have To Stay Skeeter Davis
29 Tell Tommy I Miss Him Skeeter Davis
30 I Really Want You To Know Skeeter Davis
©2008 Acrobat Music