Acrobat Music

The Songs Behind The Legends - Bob Dylan

Various Artists
Styles: Folk, Pop, Rock 'n' roll
Catalogue Number: ACRCD354
Bob Dylan’s unique place in the pantheon of popular music was sealed by his being awarded a Nobel Prize, and he is undoubtedly one of the most distinctive and influential personalities in the music of the last half century. However, his own music reflects an extraordinary variety of influences which helped shape his musical outlook and style, and, as his career progressed, his approach continued to develop as he was exposed to a changing musical landscape. Going back to early blues, hillbilly country, folk balladeers and gospel, but also encompassing the familiar impact of the rock ‘n’ roll explosion, this great-value 27-track CD brings together some of those records which influenced the way Dylan performed and the repertoire of their early years, as well as providing a context for his remarkable songwriting. It’s a hugely entertaining collection of music in its own right, but it also provides a fascinating insight into what helped make him such a unique force in music.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Falling Rain Blues Lonnie Johnson
2 Frankie Mississippi John Hurt
3 My Blue Eyed Jane Jimmie Rodgers
4 Pretty Boy Floyd Woody Guthrie
5 Screamin’ And Cryin’ Blues Sonny Terry & Brownie McGhee
6 Black, Brown, And White Blues Big Bill Broonzy
7 You Win Again Hank Williams
8 Diamond Joe Cisco Houston
9 There Stands The Glass Webb Pierce
10 Go’ Way From My Window John Jacob Niles
11 Boppin’ The Blues Carl Perkins
12 Trouble Bound Billy Lee Riley
13 I Had To Stoop To Conquer You Josh White
14 Dizzy, Miss Lizzy Larry Williams
15 You Told A Fib Gene Vincent & His Blue Caps
16 You’ve Got Love Buddy Holly & The Crickets
17 Sweet Was The Wine Jerry Butler & The Impressions
18 Man Of Constant Sorrow The Stanley Brothers
19 I’m So Glad The Staple Singers
20 Jack O' Diamonds Is A Hard Card To Play Mance Lipscomb
21 Hey Boba Lou Ronnie Hawkins & The Hawks
22 Dark As A Dungeon Odetta
23 Girl Next Door Went A’ Walking Elvis Presley
24 The Butcher Boy The Clancy Brothers With Tommy Makem
25 Hesitation Blues Dave Van Ronk
26 Mojo Hand Lightnin’ Hopkins
27 We Shall Overcome Pete Seeger
©2008 Acrobat Music