Acrobat Music

The Singles & Albums Collection 1958-62
The Singles & Albums Collection 1958-62

The Miracles
Styles: Pop, R&B
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3264
Led by the legendary singer and songwriter Smokey Robinson, The Miracles were one of the first groups to sign to Berry Gordy’s newly-established Tamla label in 1959, and went to become one of Motown’s most successful acts, racking up more than fifty hits through to the end of the ‘70s. Starting life as The Five Chimes and The Matadors, they had become The Miracles by 1958, and with songwriter/producer Berry Gordy made records for the End and Chess labels, scoring a minor chart entry, before Gordy launched his own label. They achieved Tamla’s first million seller with their first significant hit, the R&B No. 1 “Shop Around”. Over the next three years, they had a succession of further pop and R&B hits, before hitting the No. 1 spot again in 1962 with “You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me”. This great-value 46-track 2-CD set comprises all the A & B sides of their fifteen singles for the End, Chess and Tamla labels during these crucial formative years, so features all their eleven hits during this era, plus all the tracks from their first three albums, “Hi We're The Miracles”, “Cookin' with the Miracles” and “I'll Try Something New” which were not otherwise released on singles. It is a comprehensive overview of their early career, and in showcasing their unique sound built around Smokey Robinson’s highly distinctive voice, it is a highly evocative snapshot of their contribution to a hugely exciting era in pop as their formed part of the chart vanguard of the new Tamla-Motown set-up, influencing major artists like the emerging Beatles along the way.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
2 My Mama Done Told me The Miracles
3 I Need Some Money The Miracles
4 I Cry The Miracles
5 Bad Girl The Miracles
6 I Love Your Baby The Miracles
7 I Need A Change The Miracles
8 All I Want is You The Miracles
9 It Ron & Bill
10 Don't Say Bye Bye Ron & Bill
11 The Feeling Is So Fine The Miracles
12 (You Can) Depend On Me The Miracles
13 Way Over There The Miracles
14 Shop Around The Miracles featuring Bill "Smokey" Robinson
15 Who's Lovin' You The Miracles featuring Bill "Smokey" Robinson
16 Ain't It Baby The Miracles featuring Bill "Smokey" Robinson
17 The Only One I Love The Miracles featuring Bill "Smokey" Robinson
18 Mighty Good Lovin' The Miracles
19 Broken Hearted The Miracles
20 Everybody's Gotta Pay Some Dues The Miracles
21 I Can't Believe The Miracles
22 Whats So Good About Good-Bye The Miracles
23 I've Been Good To You The Miracles
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 I'll Try Something New The Miracles
2 You Never Miss A Good Thing The Miracles
3 If Your Mother Only Knew The Miracles
4 You've Really Got A Hold On Me The Miracles
5 Happy Landing The Miracles
6 Heart Like Mine The Miracles
7 Won't You Take Me Back The Miracles
8 Cause I Love You The Miracles
9 Your Love The Miracles
10 After All The Miracles
11 Money The Miracles
12 Don't Leave Me The Miracles
13 That's The Way I Feel The Miracles
14 Mama The Miracles
15 Determination The Miracles
16 Embraceable You The Miracles
17 He Don't Care About Me The Miracles
18 A Love That Can Never Be The Miracles
19 I've Been Good To You The Miracles
20 Speak Low The Miracles
21 On the Street Where You Live The Miracles
22 I've Got You Under My Skin The Miracles
23 This I Swear, I Promise The Miracles
©2008 Acrobat Music