Acrobat Music

The Greatest Country Hits of 1962
The Greatest Country Hits of 1962

Various Artists
Styles: Country
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7129
This release continues the series of 4-CD sets which comprises selected annual collections of the biggest US country hits of each year. This great-value 110-track collection covers the year of 1962, during which time Billboard published a Top 30 which changed its name during the year from Hot C&W Sides to Hot Country Singles, and it comprises every record which appeared in the Top 15 of that chart during the year. Despite the fact that the pop landscape had been transformed over preceding years by rock ‘n’ roll and its aftermath, and was about to undergo another upheaval with the British Invasion, the charts still had a familiar look about them for country fans, with many traditional established country stars well-represented, like Webb Pierce, Porter Wagoner, Kitty Wells and Hank Snow, although the smoother Nashville sound certainly characterised many of the hits and there was more than a smattering of crossover artists who enjoyed big crossover hits, not least Leroy Van Dyke’s long-running No. 1 “Walk On By”. Other big winners during the year with multiple hits were George Jones, Patsy Cline, Marty Robbins, Jimmy Dean, Jim Reeves, and there were some hot new kids on the block like Buck Owens, Willie Nelson and Johnny Tillotson, along with some collectable obscurities among the one-hit wonders. It’s a fascinating and entertaining musical snapshot of the country scene during a dynamic era, and with an in-depth 12,000+ word booklet with background notes on every record, it gives a solid overview of the most popular country music of the year.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Walk On By Leroy Van Dyke
2 Big Bad John Jimmy Dean
3 Crazy Patsy Cline
4 Soft Rain Ray Price
5 You're The Reason Bobby Edwards
6 Losin' Your Love Jim Reeves
7 Under The Influence Of Love Buck Owens
8 In The Middle Of A Heartache Wanda Jackson
9 It's Your World Marty Robbins
10 Lonesome Number One Don Gibson
11 Walking The Streets Webb Pierce
12 Backtrack Faron Young
13 What I Feel In My Heart Jim Reeves
14 How Do You Talk To A Baby Webb Pierce
15 The Comancheros Claude King
16 Day Into Night Kitty Wells
17 That's My Pa Sheb Wooley
18 Air Mail To Heaven Carl Smith
19 Tender Years George Jones
20 Tennessee Flat-Top Box Johnny Cash
21 Anywhere There's People Lawton Williams
22 Misery Loves Company Porter Wagoner
23 The Waltz You Saved For Me Ferlin Husky
24 A Little Bitty Tear Burl Ives
25 Dear Ivan Jimmy Dean
26 A Wound Time Can't Erase Stonewall Jackson
27 Happy Journey Hank Locklin
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Sometimes I'm Tempted Marty Robbins
2 Alla My Love Webb Pierce
3 Go On Home Patti Page
4 Nobody's Fool But Yours Buck Owens
5 Aching Breaking Heart George Jones
6 She's Got You Patsy Cline
7 Charlie's Shoes Billy Walker
8 Unloved Unwanted Kitty Wells
9 To A Sleeping Beauty Jimmy Dean
10 Cajun Queen Jimmy Dean
11 Tears Broke Out On Me Eddy Arnold
12 Willingly Shirley Collie & Wille Nelson
13 Three Days Faron Young
14 If A Woman Answers Leroy Van Dyke
15 Where I Ought To Be Skeeter Davis
16 She Thinks I Still Care George Jones
17 Honky Tonk Man Johnny Horton
18 Get A Little Dirt On Your Hands Bill Anderson
19 P.T. 109 Jimmy Dean
20 I Guess I'll Never Learn Charlie Phillips
21 My Name Is Mud James O'Gwynn
22 Funny Way Of Laughin' Burl Ives
23 Old Rivers Walter Brennan
24 Wolverton Mountain Claude King
25 I Can Mend Your Broken Heart Don Gibson
26 Trouble's Back In Town Wilburn Brothers
27 Adios Amigos Jim Reeves
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 I've Just Destroyed The World (I'm Living In) Ray Price
2 Love Can't Wait Marty Robbins
3 Take Time Webb Pierce
4 You Take The Future Hank Snow
5 The Comeback Faron Young
6 When I Get Through With You You'll Love Me Too Patsy Cline
7 Crazy Wild Desire Webb Pierce
8 Touch Me Willie Nelson
9 Waltz Of The Angels George Jones & Margie Singleton
10 Where The Old Red River Flows Jimmie Davis
11 It Keeps Right On A-Hurtin Johnny Tillotson
12 A Little Heartache Eddy Arnold
13 Cold Dark Waters Porter Wagoner
14 Success Loretta Lynn
15 One Look At Heaven Stonewall Jackson
16 In The Jailhouse Now Johnny Cash
17 We're Gonna Go Fishing Hank Locklin
18 Leona Stonewall Jackson
19 Mama Sang A Song Bill Anderson
20 Devil Woman Marty Robbins
21 Save The Last Dance For Me Buck Owens
22 Everybody But Me Ernest Ashworth
23 Will Your Lawyer Talk To God Kitty Wells
24 Call Me Mr. In-Between Burl Ives
25 Open Pit Mine George Jones
26 If You Don' Know I Ain't Gonna Tell You George Hamilton IV
27 I'm Gonna Change Everything Jim Reeves
28 Willie The Weeper Billy Walker
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 I've Been Everywhere Hank Snow
2 So Wrong Patsy Cline
3 Footsteps Of A Fool Judy Lynn
4 After Loving You Eddy Arnold
5 Send Me The Pillow That You Dream On Johnny Tillotson
6 Pride Ray Price
7 Hello Out There Carl Belew
8 Don't Go Near The Indians Rex Allen
9 A Girl I Used To Know George Jones & The Jones Boys
10 Little Black Book Jimmy Dean
11 Cow Town Webb Pierce
12 The Burning Of Atlanta Claude King
13 Big Fool Of The Year George Jones & The Jones Boys
14 Kickin' Our Hearts Around Buck Owens
15 He Stands Real Tall Del Reeves
16 The Violet And The Rose Little Jimmy Dickens
17 We Missed You Kitty Wells
18 Wall To Wall Love Bob Gallion
19 Sing A Little Song Of Heartache Rose Maddox
20 Then A Tear Fell Earl Scott
21 Don't Let Me Cross Over Carl Butler
22 Hello Trouble Orville Couch
23 Does He Mean That Much To You Eddy Arnold
24 Ruby Ann Marty Robbins
25 Ballad Of Jed Clampett Lester Flatt & Earl Scruggs
26 Mary Ann Regrets Burl Ives
27 You're For Me Buck Owens
28 Second Hand Rose Roy Drusky
©2008 Acrobat Music