Acrobat Music

The Singles Collection 1950-60
The Singles Collection 1950-60

Big Joe Turner
Styles: Blues, R&B
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3275
Big Joe Turner was one of the most prominent, distinctive and successful of the “blues shouters” who were very much a key part of the blues and R&B scene during the 1940s and ‘50s, helping to lay the groundwork for the music which developed into rock ‘n’ roll, revolutionising the pop landscape during the 1950s. Turner had been active right through the 1940s working with pianist Pete Johnson’s band and others, and had R&B hits with songs like “S.K. Blues” and “My Gal’s A Jockey” See Big Joe Turner “The Essential ‘40s Collection” ADDCD3069). However, it was after signing to Ahmet Ertegun’s Atlantic label in 1951 that his work became more commercial and he racked up a string of R&B and pop hits through to 1960, which had a huge influence on the artists at the forefront of the rock ‘n roll explosion. This great value 55-track 2-CD set comprises selected A & B sides from his singles during 1950 for the Imperial, Freedom and Aladdin labels, which include the Top 10 hit “Still In The Dark”, plus the complete A & B sides of his Atlantic releases from 1951-60. It features 19 R&B & Pop hits, including the No. 1s “Honey Hush” and the original version of “Shake, Rattle And Roll”, covered by Bill Haley to have a significant pop hit, and the Top 3 classics “Chains Of Love, “The Chill Is On”, “Sweet Sixteen”, “Flip, Flop And Fly”, “Hide And Seek” and “Corrine Corrina”, the last-named a pop chart entry as well. It’s a comprehensive overview of his recordings during the most successful era of his career, and it showcases his unique vocal style and masterly feel for the blues and R&B idioms which provided a template for the likes of Bill Haley and Elvis Presley to interpret to make such a huge impact on popular music.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Lucille Joe Turner
2 Love My Baby Joe Turner
3 Adam Bit The Apple Joe Turner
4 Still In The Dark Joe Turner
5 Just A Travelin' Man Joe Turner
6 Jumpin' At The Jubilee Joe Turner
7 Back-Breaking Blues Joe Turner
8 Chains Of Love Joe Turner
9 After My Laughter Came Tears Joe Turner
10 The Chill Is On Joe Turner
11 Bump Miss Susie Joe Turner
12 Sweet Sixteen Joe Turner
13 I'll Never Stop Loving You Joe Turner
14 Don't You Cry Joe Turner
15 Poor Lover's Blues Joe Turner
16 Still In Love Joe Turner
17 Baby I Still Want You Joe Turner
18 Honey Hush Joe Turner & His Band
19 Crawdad Hole Joe Turner & His Band
20 TV Mama Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
21 Oke-She-Moke-She-Pop Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
22 Shake, Rattle And Roll Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
23 You Know I Love You Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
24 Well Alright Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
25 Married Woman Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
26 Flip Flop And Fly Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Ti-Ri-Lee Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
2 Hide And Seek Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
3 Midnight Cannonball Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
4 Morning Noon And Night Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
5 The Chicken And The Hawk (Up, Up And Away) Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
6 Corrine, Corrina Joe Turner
7 Boogie Woogie Country Girl Joe Turner
8 Rock A While Joe Turner
9 Lipstick Powder And Paint Joe Turner
10 Midnight Special Train Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
11 Feelin' Happy Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
12 After A While Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
13 Red Sails In The Sunset Joe Turner & His Blues Kings
14 Love Roller Coaster Joe Turner
15 World Of Trouble Joe Turner
16 I Need A Girl Joe Turner
17 Trouble In Mind Joe Turner
18 Teenage Letter Joe Turner
19 Wee Baby Blues Joe Turner
20 Blues In The Night Joe Turner
21 Jump For Joy Joe Turner
22 Got You On My Mind Joe Turner
23 Love Oh Careless Love Joe Turner
24 Tomorrow Night Joe Turner
25 Honey Hush Joe Turner
26 Chains Of Love Joe Turner
27 My Little Honey Dripper Joe Turner
28 Sweet Sue Joe Turner
29 My Reason For Living Joe Turner
©2008 Acrobat Music