Acrobat Music

The Kay Starr Hits Collection 1948-62
The Kay Starr Hits Collection 1948-62

Kay Starr
Styles: Easy Listening, Pop
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3352
Kay Starr was one of the coterie of stylish and striking female vocalists alongside the likes of Rosemary Clooney and Patti Page, who enjoyed their real chart heyday during the years between the demise of the big bands in the late ‘40s and the arrival of rock ‘n’ roll in the mid-‘50s, although she was able to ride the musical upheavals to continue having hits into the early ‘60s. This great-value 49-track 2-CD set entirely comprises her recordings during her time with the Capitol and RCA-Victor labels which featured in the published pop charts in Billboard, Cash Box or the UK, through to her final appearance in the Hot 100 in 1961. It naturally includes her landmark US No. 1 hits with “The Wheel Of Fortune” in 1952 and “The Rock And Roll Waltz” in 1955, the latter also a No. 1 in the UK, along with the UK No. 1 “Comes A-Long A-Love” and her other US Top 5 hits “Hoop-De-Doo”, “Bonaparte’s Retreat”, “Side By Side”, “Changing Partners” and “If You Love Me” – she had another eight Top 10 hits as well. Among the top flight arranger/conductors she worked with on her hits were Hugo Winterhalter, Frank De Vol, Harold Mooney, Dave Cavanaugh, Lou Busch, Cliffie Stone, Joe Reisman, Van Alexander, Jimmie Haskell, Jack Marshall and Perry Botkin Jr.. It’s a marvellous showcase for the talent of one of the biggest stars of the day performing across a range of repertoire, and a feast of top-class pop music.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 You Were Only Fooling (While I Was Falling In Love)  Kay Starr
2 So Tired Kay Starr
3 How It Lies, How It Lies, How It Lies Kay Starr
4 Game Of Broken Hearts Kay Starr
5 Bonaparte's Retreat Kay Starr
6 Hoop-De-Doo Kay Starr
7 Mississippi Kay Starr
8 I'll Never Be Free  Kay Starr & Tennessee Ernie Ford
9 Ain't Nobody's Business But My Own  Kay Starr & Tennessee Ernie Ford
10 Oh! Babe Kay Starr
11 Ocean Of Tears  Kay Starr & Tennessee Ernie Ford
12 You're My Sugar  Kay Starr & Tennessee Ernie Ford
13 Come On-A My House Kay Starr
14 Angry Kay Starr
15 The Wheel Of Fortune  Kay Starr
16 I Waited A Little Too Long Kay Starr
17 Kay's Lament  Kay Starr
18 Fool, Fool, Fool  Kay Starr
19 Comes A-Long A-Love Kay Starr
20 Three Letters Kay Starr
21 Side By Side Kay Starr
22 Half A Photograph Kay Starr
23 Allez-Vous-En Kay Starr
24 When My Dreamboat Comes Home Kay Starr
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Swamp Fire Kay Starr
2 Changing Partners Kay Starr
3 The Man Upstairs Kay Starr
4 If You Love Me (Really Love Me) Kay Starr
5 Am I A Toy Or A Treasure Kay Starr
6 Fortune In Dreams Kay Starr
7 Turn Right Kay Starr
8 If Anyone Finds This, I Love You Kay Starr
9 Foolishly Yours Kay Starr
10 Good And Lonesome Kay Starr
11 The Rock And Roll Waltz  Kay Starr
12 I've Changed My Mind A Thousand Times Kay Starr
13 Second Fiddle Kay Starr
14 Love Ain't Right Kay Starr
15 Things I Never Had Kay Starr
16 The Good Book Kay Starr
17 Jamie Boy Kay Starr
18 A Little Loneliness Kay Starr
19 My Heart Reminds Me Kay Starr
20 Stroll Me Kay Starr
21 Riders In The Sky Kay Starr
22 Foolin' Around Kay Starr
23 I'll Never Be Free  Kay Starr
24 Well I Ask Ya Kay Starr
25 Four Walls Kay Starr
©2008 Acrobat Music