Acrobat Music

The Larks Collection 1950-55
The Larks Collection 1950-55

The Larks
Styles: Doo Wop, Gospel, R&B
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3365
Hailing from North Carolina, the Larks were a classic African-American doowop group of the early 1950s, with their roots firmly in gospel, but moving to secular music to form The Larks, although their early recorded work ranged across both gospel and secular genres as they recorded under different names when they made their studio debut. Although they were not among the most prolific doowop hitmakers, their style and technique made them one of the most admired and imitated of the early doowop ensembles. This 48-track 2-CD set comprises the A & B sides of just about all their releases on the Apollo label and in a second incarnation of the group under lead singer Eugene Mumford on the Apollo subsidiary label Lloyds, plus some titles from those labels which were not released at the time, plus recordings on Jubilee as The Selah Singers, on Regent as The 4 Barons, and on Apollo as The Southern Harmonaires. It features their Top 10 R&B hits “Eyesight To The Blind” and “Little Side Car”. It’s a substantial overview of their career – they broke up before their final release – and it’s a thorough and excellent showcase for their highly-regarded skills as vocal harmonisers.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Why Not Today Selah Singers
2 Down Here I've Done My Best Selah Singers
3 Lemon Squeezer The Four Barons
4 Got To Go Back Again The Four Barons
5 My Heart Cries For You The Five Larks
6 Coffee, Cigarettes And Tears The Five Larks
7 Who Will Your Captain Be? Southern Harmonaires
8 I'm So Glad Southern Harmonaires
9 When I Leave These Prison Walls Larks
10 Hopefully Yours Larks
11 Let's Say A Prayer The Larks
12 My Reverie The Larks
13 Eyesight To The Blind The Larks
14 I Ain't Fattenin' Frogs For Snakes The Larks
15 Little Side Car The Larks With Bobby Smith's Orchestra
16 Hey, Little Girl Bobby Smith's Orchestra and The Larks
17 I Don't Believe In Tomorrow The Larks
18 Ooh…It Feels So Good The Larks
19 My Lost Love The Larks and Bobby Smith
20 How Long Must I Wait For You? The Larks and Bobby Smith
21 Honey In The Rock The Larks
22 Shadrack The Larks
23 Stolen Love The Larks
24 In My Lonely Room The Larks
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Darlin' The Larks
2 Lucy Brown The Larks
3 I Live True To You The Larks
4 Hold Me The Larks
5 Christmas To New Year's The Larks
6 All I Want For Christmas The Larks
7 What's The Matter The Larks
8 It's Breaking My Heart The Larks
9 Margie The Larks
10 Rockin' In the Rocket Room The Larks
11 If It's A Crime The Larks
12 Tippin' In The Larks
13 When You're Near Barbara Gale & The Larks
14 Who Walks In When I Walk Out Barbara Gale & The Larks
15 No Other Girl The Larks
16 The World Is Waiting For The Sunrise The Larks
17 Os-Ca-Lu-Ski-O  The Larks
18 Forget It The Larks
19 Johnny Darlin' Barbara Gale & The Larks
20 You're Gonna Lose Your Gal Barbara Gale & The Larks
21 Honey From The Bee The Larks
22 No, Mama, No The Larks
23 If You Were The Only Girl In The World The Larks
24 For The Love Of You The Larks
©2008 Acrobat Music