Acrobat Music

The Tex Ritter Collection - Hits and Selected Singles 1933-61
The Tex Ritter Collection - Hits and Selected Singles 1933-61

Tex Ritter
Styles: Country
Catalogue Number: ACTRCD9118
Tex Ritter was one of the first “singing cowboys”, a singer and actor who started out singing on radio in Texas in the 1920s, soon moving to New York to appear on radio and on Broadway. He made his first records in 1933, going on to have a recording career that lasted four decades, and after his screen debut in 1936 in western movies, made more than 70 films through to the mid-1970s. He is best known on record for his pop hits with “High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me)”, the theme song of the landmark 1952 movie “High Noon”, “The Wayward Wind” in 1956 and “I Dreamed Of A Hillbilly Heaven” in 1962. This great-value 77-track 3-CD set comprises recordings on the Vocalion, Champion and Decca labels from the 1930s, and then, when he was one of the first signings to the newly-founded Capitol label, further selected A & B sides from the 1940s and ‘50s, the heyday of his career, and through to the early ‘60s. It includes all his 17 chart entries during this era, including the country No. 1s “I’m Wasting My Time On You”, “You Two-Timed me Once Too Often” and “You Will Have To Pay”, and the Top 3 hits “There’s A New Moon Over My Shoulder”, “Jealous Heart”, “Have I Told You Lately That I Love You” and “When You Leave Don’t Slam The Door”, plus the pop hits mentioned above. Encompassing children’s songs, faith-based material, and some of his trademark recitations as well as the more familiar fare of cowboy songs, ,it’s a substantial and varied showcase for his talent and his highly distinctive style .

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Goodbye Old Paint Tex Ritter
2 Sam Hall Tex Ritter
3 Thirty Three Years In Prison Tex Ritter
4 Get Along Lil Dogie Tex Ritter
5 Nobody's Darling But Mine Tex Ritter
6 My Brown Eyed Texas Rose Tex Ritter
7 The Oregon Trail Tex Ritter
8 Take Me Back To My Boots And Saddle Tex Ritter
9 High Wide And Handsome Tex Ritter
10 We'll Rest At The End Of The Trail Tex Ritter
11 Hills Of Old Wyoming Tex Ritter
12 Melody From The Sky Tex Ritter
13 I'm A Natural Born Cowboy Tex Ritter
14 Singing In The Saddle Tex Ritter And His Texans
15 Viva Tequila Tex Ritter And His Texans
16 When It's Lamp Lighting Time In The Valley Tex Ritter And His Texans
17 Goodbye, My Little Cherokee Tex Ritter And His Texans
18 Someone Tex Ritter And His Texans
19 There's A Gold Star In Her Window Tex Ritter And His Texans
20 I'm Wastin' My Tears On You Tex Ritter And His Texans
21 There's A New Moon Over My Shoulder Tex Ritter And His Texans
22 Jealous Heart Tex Ritter And His Texans
23 You Two Timed Me Once Too Often Tex Ritter And His Texans
24 You Will Have To Pay Tex Ritter
25 Christmas Carols By The Old Corral Tex Ritter
26 I'm Gonna Leave You Like I Found You Tex Ritter
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Long Time Gone Tex Ritter
2 When You Leave, Don't Slam The Door Tex Ritter
3 Have I Told You Lately That I Love You Tex Ritter
4 From Now On Tex Ritter
5 One Little Teardrop Too Late Tex Ritter
6 Billy The Kid Tex Ritter
7 The Texas Rangers Tex Ritter
8 I Love My Rooster Tex Ritter
9 The Wreck Of Number Nine Tex Ritter
10 Froggy Went A-Courtin’ Tex Ritter
11 The Last Mile Tex Ritter
12 Rock And Rye Tex Ritter
13 Double Dealin’ Darlin’ Tex Ritter
14 Tenneha, Timpson, Bobo And Blair Tex Ritter
15 I Was Born A Hundred Years Ago Tex Ritter
16 Thank You Tex Ritter
17 Cactus Jackson Had A Ranch Tex Ritter
18 The Boll Weevil Song Tex Ritter
19 Teach Me To Forget Tex Ritter
20 I Can’t Get My Foot Off The Rail Tex Ritter
21 Rye Whiskey Tex Ritter
22 Deck Of Cards Tex Ritter
23 Dallas Darlin' Tex Ritter
24 Pecos Bill Tex Ritter
25 Rounded Up In Glory Tex Ritter
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Fort Worth Jail Tex Ritter
2 Careless Hands Tex Ritter
3 San Antonio Rose Tex Ritter
4 Bad Brahma Bull Tex Ritter
5 Cool Water Tex Ritter And The Dinning Sisters
6 You Are My Sunshine Tex Ritter And The Dinning Sisters
7 Never Mind My Tears Tex Ritter
8 Boiled Crawfish Tex Ritter
9 The Pledge Of Allegiance Tex Ritter
10 Daddy's Last Letter Tex Ritter
11 Stay Away From My Heart Tex Ritter
12 You're Always Brand New Tex Ritter
13 There's No One To Cry Over Me Tex Ritter
14 Ol' Shorty Tex Ritter
15 When My Blue Moon Turns To Gold Again Tex Ritter & Les Baxter
16 There Shall Be Showers Of Blessings Tex Ritter & The Oklahoma Sweethearts
17 High Noon (Do Not Forsake Me) Tex Ritter
18 Go On! Get Out! Tex Ritter
19 My Woman Ain't Pretty Tex Ritter
20 The Long Black Rifle Tex Ritter
21 Let Me Go, Devil Tex Ritter
22 Lord, Send An Angel Tex Ritter
23 The Best Time Of All Tex Ritter
24 A Whale Of Tale Tex Ritter
25 The Wayward Wind Tex Ritter
26 I Dreamed Of A Hillbilly Heaven Tex Ritter
©2008 Acrobat Music