Acrobat Music

Origins And Early Years 1953-62
Origins And Early Years 1953-62

Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons
Styles: Doo Wop, Pop
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3411
The Four Seasons, featuring the remarkable and unmistakeable voice of Frankie Valli, were one of the most popular and successful groups of the 1960s on both sides of the Atlantic, and one of the few American groups to withstand the onslaught of the British Invasion to carry their chart career through into the 1970s. When they had their first big hit as The Four Seasons in 1961 with “Sherry”, they were by no means new to the pop scene and both Frankie Valli and the group had paid their dues for the best part of a decade, honing their skills in a variety of guises on an equally bewildering array of record labels. This great-value 58-track 2-CD set features most of Frankie Valli’s early recordings, both solo and with various groups before they became The Four Seasons in 1960, and then presents their early successes under that name. It comprises selected A & B sides as Frankie Valley, Frankie Valley & The Travellers, The Four Lovers, Frankie Valli & The Romans, The Village Voices, Billy Dixon & The Topics, Johnny Halo, Hal Miller and The Rays, and The Four Seasons for the Corona, Mercury RCA, Epic, Okeh, Cindy, Decca, Topix, Gone and Vee-Jay labels. It also features the tracks from The Four Lovers album “Joyride” and the Four Seasons album “Sherry &11 Others”. Quite apart from setting the scene for the rest of their career as the Four Seasons, this collection of doowop and rock ‘n’ roll from the era when Frankie and his colleagues were exploring the potential of their talent, is hugely entertaining and offers a real insight into what lay behind The Four Seasons’ success.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 My Mother's Eyes Frankie Valley
2 The Laugh's On Me Frankie Valley
3 Forgive And Forget Frankie Valley And The Travelers
4 Somebody Else Took Her Home Frankie Valley And The Travelers
5 You're The Apple Of My Eye The Four Lovers
6 The Girl In My Dreams The Four Lovers
7 Honey Love The Four Lovers
8 Please Don't Leave Me The Four Lovers
9 Be Lovey Dovey The Four Lovers
10 Jambalaya The Four Lovers
11 Happy Am I The Four Lovers
12 Never Never The Four Lovers
13 I Want A Girl (Just Like The Girl That Married Dear Old Dad) The Four Lovers
14 (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons The Four Lovers
15 Such A Night The Four Lovers
16 Joyride The Four Lovers
17 This Is My Story The Four Lovers
18 Memories Of You The Four Lovers
19 San Antonio Rose The Four Lovers
20 It's Too Soon To Know The Four Lovers
21 White Christmas The Four Lovers
22 Night Train The Four Lovers
23 Lawdy Miss Clawdy The Four Lovers
24 Cimarron (Roll On) The Four Lovers
25 Shake A Hand The Four Lovers
26 The Stranger The Four Lovers
27 My Life For Your Love The Four Lovers
28 Pucker Up The Four Lovers
29 I Go Ape Frankie Tyler
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 If You Care Frankie Tyler
2 Come Si Bella Frankie Valli and The Romans
3 Real (This Is Real) Frankie Valli and The Romans
4 It May Be Wrong Frankie Vally
5 Please Take A Chance Frankie Vally
6 Red Lips Village Voices
7 I Am All Alone Billy Dixon And The Topics
8 Trance Billy Dixon And The Topics
9 An Angel Cried Hal Miller & The Rays
10 More Lovin', Less Talkin' Johnny Halo
11 Bermuda The Four Seasons
12 Spanish Lace The Four Seasons
13 Sherry The Four Seasons
14 I've Cried Before The Four Seasons
15 Big Girls Don't Cry The Four Seasons
16 Connie-O The Four Seasons
17 Santa Claus Is Coming To Town The Four Seasons
18 Christmas Tears The Four Seasons
19 The Merry Christmas Medley The Four Seasons
20 Yes Sir, That's My Baby The Four Seasons
21 Peanuts The Four Seasons
22 La Dee Dah The Four Seasons
23 Teardrops The Four Seasons
24 Apple Of My Eye The Four Seasons
25 Never On Sunday The Four Seasons
26 I Can't Give You Anything But Love The Four Seasons
27 The Girl In My Dreams The Four Seasons
28 Oh Carol The Four Seasons
29 Lost Lullabye The Four Seasons
©2008 Acrobat Music