Acrobat Music

In Small Bands 1937-41
In Small Bands 1937-41

Duke Ellington
Styles: Jazz
Catalogue Number: ACRCD179
Duke Ellington was no exception when it came to small band recordings featuring musicians from his touring and recording orchestra. Unlike most of his contemporaries, though, Ellington chose to design his small bands around one or more soloist and instead of using his own name as leader had the recordings released under the soloist's own name. This selection features five major players from the Ellington Orchestra and the 25 tracks on this compilation represent only a fraction of the many small band recordings Ellington produced during the 1930s and '40s. Tracks include "Tea And Trumpets" ( Rex Stewart and His Fifty-Second Street Stompers), "C-Jam Blues " ( Barney Bigard And His Orchestra ), "Echoes Of Harlem" ( Cootie Williams And His Rug Cutters) , "The Jeep Is Jumpin" ( Johnny Hodges And His Orchestra) and "Cherry" ( Rex Stewart's Big Seven).

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Tea And Trumpets
2 Pigeons And Peppers
3 Echoes Of Harlem
4 The Jeep Is Jumpin'
5 Krum Elbow Blues
6 Hodge Podge
7 Wanderlust
8 Delta Mood
9 Swingin' On The Campus
10 Dooji Wooji
11 San Juan Hill
12 Savoy Strut
13 Rent Party Blues
14 Cherry
15 Diga Diga Doo
16 Day Dream
17 Good Queen Bess
18 Mobile Bay
19 Linger Awhile
20 Lament For Javanette
21 Subtle Slough (Just Squeeze Me)
22 Menelik (The Lion Of Judah)
23 Squatty Roo
24 Things Ain't What They Used To Be (Time's A-Wastin')
25 C Blues (C-Jam Blues)
©2008 Acrobat Music