Acrobat Music

R&B Jukebox Hits 1944
R&B Jukebox Hits 1944

Various Artists
Styles: Jukebox Hits, R&B
Catalogue Number: ACMCD4188
Our Jukebox hits series has rapidly become a trade mark for Acrobat and this release continues that tradition. 1944 was a year of excitement, turmoil and huge world changing events as the war finally turned in favour of the Allies. An optimism enveloped America and this was apparent in the lively music scene. This album features classic artists such as Duke Ellington, Cootie Williams, Nat King Cole, Ella Fitzgerald and Dinah Washington. There is a definite Blues feeling in the air, with plenty of Jazz to guide us through a track listing full of wonderful hits and memorable recordings which stand the test of time right up to today. An indication of how the music has endured comes with the massive, ?I Wonder? by Cecil Gant, a blues ballad of such simplicity that it topped the chart for months and is still being recorded by artists, including a memorable version by Aretha Franklin 25 years later.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Ration Blues Louis Jordan
2 Do Nothing Til You Hear From Me Duke Ellington
3 G. I. Jive Johnny Mercer W. Paul Weston & Ork
4 Cherry Erskine Hawkins
5 Cow Cow Boogie Ella Fitzgerald & The Ink Spots
6 Hurry Hurry Benny Carter
7 When My Man Comes Home Buddy Johnson
8 I Learned A Lesson I?ll Never Forget The 5 Red Caps
9 Cherry Harry James & His Ork
10 Boogie Woogie Ball The 5 Red Caps
11 Main Stem Duke Ellington
12 Sometimes I?m Happy Lester Young
13 Straighten Up & Fly Right King Cole Trio
14 Salty Papa Blues Dinah Washington
15 (Cherry) Red Blues Cootie Williams
16 Body & Soul Coleman Hawkins
17 Hamp?s Boogie Woogie Lionel Hampton
18 Gee Baby Ain?t I Good To You King Cole Trio
19 I Stay In The Mood For You Billy Eckstine
20 I Wonder Cecil Gant
21 Going Out The Back Way Johnny Hodges
22 I?m Making Believe Ella Fitzgerald & The Ink Spots
23 Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall Ella Fitzgerald & The Ink Spots
24 Is You Or Is You Ain?t Cootie Williams
25 I Don?t Mind Duke Ellington
26 It?s Only A Paper Moon Nat King Cole Trio
©2008 Acrobat Music