Acrobat Music

Tippin' In
Tippin' In

Bobby Smith
Styles: Blues, R&B
Catalogue Number: ACMCD4202
Here you go; true to our word here is another first… the first compilation on CD featuring the recordings of the legendary Alto Saxophonist, Bobby Smith. Smith was a key member of the Erskine Hawkins Orchestra from 1944 until its demise, but by then, the late 40’s, his amazing skill on Alto Sax had meant that he had established himself as the most in-demand session musician and as if that was not enough he was the house bandleader for the Apollo label where he recorded with all of the labels biggest stars including The Larks, Eddie Mack and Willie Bryant. In addition he made a number of recordings of his own and these have become sought after rarities in their own right. This album is well worth attention and it fills a nice gap in the market, we have covered all facets of his career on this album and we have included in this package a fully illustrated booklet complete with sleeve notes from R&B expert, Dave Penny.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Tippin' In
2 Hey Little Girl
3 Don't Shake Those Hips At Me
4 Heart Throbbin' Blues
5 Blue Keys
6 Algiers Blues
7 That’s For Sure
8 Behind Closed Doors
9 Station Break
10 You'll Never Miss The Water
11 Tread Lightly
12 Dash Hound Boogie
13 How Long Must I Wait
14 Flip A Coin
15 Lemonade
16 Buffalo Nickel
17 Little Side Car
18 Cinder Bottom
19 Danny Boy
20 How About That
21 Night Watch
22 Bess' Boogie
23 I Can't Sleep
24 Desert Night
25 Skippin' And Hoppin'
26 Because Your Baby Is On Your Mind
27 Light Foot
28 Kind Lovin' Daddy
©2008 Acrobat Music