Acrobat Music


King Curtis
Styles: Jazz, Soul
Catalogue Number: ACMCD4230
For the first time on CD the rare Everest LP, “Azure” by the legendary saxophonist King Curtis, recorded in 1960 and released in 1961. Curtis was until his murder in 1971 one of the most popular R&B saxophonists in the world thanks to his appearance on countless hit records in the late fifties and early sixties. Classic solo recordings such as “Memphis Soul Stew”, his production work and his long term role as Aretha Franklin’s musical director had thrust him into the global spotlight. When he recorded this mainly easy listening orientated album featuring such standards as “Unchained Melody”, “Misty” and “When I Fall In Love “he was still a year away from his first hit “Soul Twist”. He recorded a single for Everest after the albums release, “Jay Walk”/”Lone Prairie” and we have added these two tracks to the original album. After “Soul Twist” hit on Enjoy Records Everest reissued “Jay Walk” on their Alcor label. These long sought after recordings fill a gap for King Curtis collectors after many years of waiting.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Close Your Eyes King Curtis
2 Unchained Melody King Curtis
3 Off Shore King Curtis
4 Nearness Of You King Curtis
5 Misty King Curtis
6 Stranger King Curtis
7 When I Fall In Love King Curtis
8 It Ain't Necessarily So King Curtis
9 Our Love Is Here To Stay King Curtis
10 My Love Is Your Love King Curtis
11 Sweet And Lovely King Curtis
12 Azure King Curtis
13 The Lone Prairie King Curtis
14 Jay Walk King Curtis
©2008 Acrobat Music