Acrobat Music

Rumba Blues Vol. 3
Rumba Blues Vol. 3

Various Artists
Catalogue Number: RANDB017
Africa and Latin America have moulded American popular music since the beginning of the twentieth century. African influences initially led to the development of jazz, gospel and blues, whose rhythms have been shaped by successive waves of dance music from Cuba, Argentina, Brazil, Mexico, Puerto Rico and Jamaica. Every American musical genre from Broadway stage, Hollywood film, Tin Pan Alley pop and even country music has been affected to some degree. The first two volumes of Rhythm & Blues Records’ Rumba Blues series covered the years 1940 – 53, and this third collection compiles Latin-influenced tracks from 1956-58; ten of them are rumbas and the rest are mainly boleros, cascaras and cha-cha-chas, but perhaps the most interesting development is the re-emergence of the Charleston. It’s a fascinating insight into the evolution of a vibrant and important strand of popular music.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 I'm a Lover Not a Fighter Lazy Lester
2 I've Got Love If You Want It Slim Harpo
3 Got My Mojo Working Muddy Waters
4 Susie Q Dale Hawkins
5 Jump Jack, Jump! Wynona Carr
6 The Crawl Guitar Junior
7 King Kong Big "T" Tyler
8 The Greasy Chicken André Williams
9 Arabian Love Call Art Neville
10 Do You Wanna Dance Bobby Freeman
11 Ruby Lee B.B. King
12 When I Meet My Girl Tommy Ridgley
13 I'm Walking Fats Domino
14 For You My Love Paul Gayten
15 Summertime Blues Eddie Cochran
16 Louie, Louie Richard Berry
17 Wicked Old Fever Charles Sheffield
18 Ram Bunk Shush Bill Doggett
19 Good Mornin' Baby Smokey Hogg
20 All Your Love Otis Rush
21 The Wrong Woman Champion Jack Dupree
22 Frenzy Screamin' Jay Hawkins
23 Hush Your Mouth Bo Diddley
24 Bad Boy (Junior Cha Cha Cha) Larry Williams
25 Pig Tails and Ribbons Leonard Carbo
26 She's Mine All Mine Eddie Lang
27 Tell Me Pretty Baby Screamin' Joe Neal
28 Tequila The Champs
29 It's So Fine Lavern Baker
30 The Freeze Albert Collins
31 Guitar Cha Cha Cha Memphis Slim
32 Star-O Harry Belafonte
©2008 Acrobat Music