Acrobat Music

The 1962 British Hit Parade: The B Sides Part 3
The 1962 British Hit Parade: The B Sides Part 3

Various Artists
Styles: British Hit Parades
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7056
Acrobat Music’s series of British Hit Parade collections has become an essential annual purchase for a significant number of collectors and enthusiasts who wish to hear and own every record that entered the British record charts during each year. This year, for the second time, we are presenting parallel collections to the main British Hit Parade releases comprising the ‘B’ sides of all the tracks that appear in the main set. The experiment with the 1961 B sides sets last year proved successful, with a significant take-up from many collectors, so we are continuing the B sides series and hope to work backwards through the years to fill the gaps as well. Part Three includes the original ‘B’ sides of every record that entered the charts between 6th September and the end of the year in chronological order of chart entry, mirroring the tracks on Part Three of the main 1962 British Hit Parade collection, with nearly four hours of eclectic and fascinating entertainment. The only exceptions are where the original hit was a double ‘A’ side, where both sides charted, as a result of which both of the tracks appear in the main Hit Parade collection. The story of how ‘B’ sides come to be what they are is a fascinating one and varies greatly from record to record. Some featured songs that were written by either the producer, the artist’s manager or someone else with sufficient influence to ensure that if the ‘A’ side were a hit, they would collect 50% of the publishing income from the sales. Others were, of course, complete throwaways, dashed off in the last 10 minutes of a session purely as make-weights. In contrast, some started life as the intended ‘A’ side, only to be overshadowed as promotion people or radio DJs spotted the potential of the ‘B’ side. The fascination is that, in most cases, with the passage of time, we will never know the true story, and the tracks will simply stand to be judged on their merits or otherwise.Whatever the case, they will very often provide collectors with a piece of the artist’s work that they have never heard before, and the majority, we suspect, will never have been available on CD before. The sets as always include our substantial booklets comprising about 10,000 words with commentary on the tracks. We are sure that many purchasers of the main sets will be keen to acquire the ‘B’ sides to ensure the completeness of their collection.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 He Is The Boy Little Eva
2 Since I Lost You Cliff Richard
3 Save Your Kisses Tommy Roe
4 I'm Gonna Move On Del Shannon
5 How's My Ex Treating You Jerry Lee Lewis
6 Galloping Guitars The Spotnicks
7 Don't Wanna Go The Vernons Girls
8 Careless Love Ray Charles
9 Heart In Hand Brenda Lee
10 Wait Till The Sun Shines, Nellie Buddy Holly
11 The Other Side Of The Town Joe Brown & The Bruvvers
12 Happy That's Me Kenny Lynch
13 Yes You Did Valerie Mountain
14 Bristol Express The Eagles
15 Some People Valerie Mountain
16 Nobody's Perfect Carole King
17 My Mother's Eyes Karl Denver
18 The Good Times Nat King Cole
19 April Fool's Day Marty Robbins
20 Remember Me, Huh? Bobby Vee
21 Acker's Lacquer Mr. Acker Bilk
22 Madeleine Frankie Vaughan
23 Just For Gerry The Fentones
24 You're The One Chris Montez
25 Please Come Back To Me Mark Wynter
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 I've Cried Before The Four Seasons
2 What'll I Do Johnny Tillotson
3 A True, True Love Bobby Darin
4 Cocktails For Two George Shearing
5 Cyril's Tune Tony Hatch & His Orchestra
6 Ginny In The Mirror Del Shannon
7 Come A Little Closer Susan Maughan
8 P.S. I Love You The Beatles
9 Why Don't You Change Your Ways Little Richard
10 You Can Do It If You Try Jess Conrad
11 Please Don't Take My Heart Craig Douglas
12 I Got Plenty O' Nuttin' Kenny Ball & His Jazzmen
13 Cry My Heart Out Helen Shapiro
14 Someone's Pinched My Winkles Rolf Harris
15 Don't Ask Me To Be Friends Everly Brothers
16 Running Around Billy Fury
17 Send Me The Pillow That You Dream On Marty Wilde
18 All I Do Is Dream Of You Richard Chamberlain
19 Miss Madison Joe Loss & His Orchestra
20 The Blacksmith Blues John Barry
21 Popeye (The Hitch-Hiker) Chubby Checker
22 Home Is Where The Heart Is Elvis Presley
23 I Got Lucky Elvis Presley
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 A Whistling Tune Elvis Presley
2 Stretchin' Out Duane Eddy And The Rebelettes
3 Jazz Theme From Dr. Kildare Stan Getz
4 Walk A Lonely Mile Brian Hyland
5 By The Way Matt Monro
6 Redskins Peter Jay & The Jaywalkers
7 Please Pass The Biscuits Jimmy Dean
8 Leah Roy Orbison
9 All Things Bright And Beautiful Joe Brown & The Bruvvers
10 Amore Baciami Pat Boone
11 Welcome Home, Mr. Blues Hank Locklin
12 Think Of Her Ronnie Carroll
13 Jump Over Ray Ellington
14 I Love You Eddie The Crystals
15 I Belong To You Neil Sedaka
16 Stardust Bossa Nova Ella Fitzgerald
17 Pride Goes Before A Fall Jim Reeves
18 It Happened Last Night Carole Deene
19 Where Do You Come From? Elvis Presley
20 Starlight Starbright Maureen Evans
21 Papa Noël Brenda Lee
22 Why Can't He Be You? Patsy Cline
23 Alone Again Russ Conway
24 You Know How Bobby Darin
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 Jump On Your Broomstick Kenny Lynch
2 Piddle De Pat Tommy Roe
3 All Day The Shadows
4 That Kinda Talk Mark Wynter
5 Knocking On Wood Adam Faith
6 You Are My Sunshine Ray Charles
7 The Johnson Boys The Springfields
8 Sam's Song Dean Martin & Sammy Davis Jr.
9 One Man Band Bernard Cribbins
10 Who's Next In Line Nat King Cole
11 Song Of The Promised Land The Harry Simeone Chorale
12 What Are You Doing New Year's Eve Chubby Checker and Bobby Rydell
13 Pretty Little Baby Connie Francis
14 When You Ask About Love Julie Grant
15 Don’t Phone Me I'll Phone You Mike Sarne
16 Twistin' To The Blues Ray Bennett
17 Mashy The Routers
18 I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry Johnny Tillotson
19 The Conservative The Orlons
20 Loneliness Mike Berry & The Outlaws
21 Got 'N' Idea Paddy Roberts
22 Where Do I Go? Little Eva
23 Another Night With The Boys The Drifters
©2008 Acrobat Music