Acrobat Music

New Edition - Rare Radio Recordings 1958-62
New Edition - Rare Radio Recordings 1958-62

Tubby Hayes
Styles: Jazz
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3097
Throughout his all-too-short career, radio broadcast appearances formed a major part of the workload of the legendary saxophonist Tubby Hayes. Barely a month went by without Hayes featuring on the airwaves and this unique collection – assembled to mark the 40th anniversary of his untimely death – contains highlights from his peak years, the late 1950s and early 1960s. Hayes is heard co-leading the famous Jazz Couriers with fellow saxophonist Ronnie Scott and heading his own quartets and quintets including the cream of British jazz. He also featured as a member of the one-off all-star Jimmy Deuchar big band and makes a rare guest appearance with the John Dankworth Orchestra. Featured players include Gordon Beck, Victor Feldman, Allan Ganley, Dizzy Reece, Ronnie Ross and Stan Tracey. Hayes is also heard during his 1962 visit to the America – in blistering form at the Washington Jazz Festival – the only existing live recording of him on US soil. With previously unreleased material – much of which Hayes never recorded elsewhere - and a comprehensive booklet essay by noted saxophonist and writer Simon Spillett, this new collection is the ultimate celebration of a much-missed genius.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 What Is This Thing Called Love? The Jazz Couriers
2 Love Letters The Jazz Couriers
3 Some Of My Best Friends Are Blues The Jazz Couriers
4 The Serpent The Jazz Couriers
5 Things Ain’t What They Used To Be The Jazz Couriers
6 Oasis The Jazz Couriers
7 Come Rain Or Come Shine The Jazz Couriers
8 Squeeze Me The Jazz Couriers
9 Blues In Trinity The Jazz Couriers
10 Lifeline The Jazz Couriers
11 Cherokee Tubby Hayes With The Johnny Dankworth Orchestra
12 Del Sasser The Tubby Hayes Quartet
13 R.T.H. The Tubby Hayes Quartet
14 Souriya, Interview with Tubby Hayes The Tubby Hayes Quartet
15 Dat Dere The Tubby Hayes Quartet
16 Wonderful, Wonderful The Tubby Hayes Quartet
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Heather Mist, Interview with Tubby Hayes Jimmy Deuchar Plus Ten
2 Sumphin’ Jimmy Deuchar Plus Ten
3 Stablemates Jimmy Deuchar Plus Ten
4 First Eleven Jimmy Deuchar Plus Ten
5 Stella By Starlight Jimmy Deuchar Plus Ten
6 A Moment's Notice Victor Feldman And Tubby Hayes
7 There Is No Greater Love Victor Feldman And Tubby Hayes
8 Big ‘P’ The Tubby Hayes Quartet
9 New Edition The New Tubby Hayes Quintet
10 My Man’s Gone Now The New Tubby Hayes Quintet
11 Cool The New Tubby Hayes Quintet
12 In The Night The New Tubby Hayes Quintet
13 Quota The New Tubby Hayes Quintet
14 Oleo Tubby Hayes With The Walter Bishop Jr. Trio
©2008 Acrobat Music