Acrobat Music

The Early Years - The Complete Singles As & Bs 1954-62
The Early Years - The Complete Singles As & Bs 1954-62

The Dells
Styles: R&B, Soul
Catalogue Number: ACMCD4380
The Dells were one of the longest-lasting of all the many R&B vocal groups which had their roots in the gospel and doowop era of the early and mid-‘50s, their career encompassing a heyday in the soul era of the ‘60s and ‘70s and extending well unto the new millennium until the death of Johnny Carter in 2009. Formed in 1952, they made their first record as The El Rays in 1954, becoming The Dells in 1955 when they moved to the Vee Jay label. This 29-track collection comprises the A and b sides of all their releases from the debut on Checker, through their time with Vee Jay, which gave them their debut hit with “What A Night” in 1956, and including their two singles for Checker’s Argo subsidiary in 1962. Unlike many ensembles of their era, The Dells maintained a more or less completely settled line-up throughout their career, with just one change in 1960 when Carter replaced Johnny Funches, following a near-fatal car crash. This collection provides an entertaining and enjoyable trawl through their early career, charting the course which saw them develop into archetypal soul legends.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Darling I Know The El Rays
2 Christine The El Rays
3 Tell The World The Dells
4 Zing Zing Zing The Dells
5 Dreams of Contentment The Dells
6 Oh What A Nite The Dells
7 Jo Jo The Dells
8 Movin' On The Dells
9 I Wanna Go Home The Dells
10 Why Do You Have To Go The Dells
11 Dance, Dance, Dance The Dells
12 Q-Bop She Bop The Dells
13 A Distant Love The Dells
14 Pains In My Heart The Dells
15 Time Makes You Change The Dells
16 What You Say Baby The Dells
17 The Springer The Dells
18 I'm Calling The Dells
19 Jeepers Creepers The Dells
20 Wedding Day The Dells
21 My Best Girl The Dells
22 Dry Your Eyes The Dells
23 Baby, Open Up Your Heart The Dells
24 Swingin' Teens The Dells
25 Hold On To What You've Got The Dells
26 God Bless The Child The Dells
27 I'm Going Home The Dells
28 The (Bossa Nova) Bird The Dells
29 Eternally The Dells
©2008 Acrobat Music