Acrobat Music

The Hit Songs of Felice & Boudleaux Bryant 1949-62
The Hit Songs of Felice & Boudleaux Bryant 1949-62

Felice & Boudleaux Bryant
Styles: Country, Pop
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3185
They may not be household names, but the husband and wife songwriting team of Felice & Boudleaux Bryant rank among the most successful pop composers of the post-war era, with some of their songs providing iconic landmarks in pop history. They are best-known for the string of hits they wrote to kick-start the career of the Everly Brothers, their compositions of that crucial mini-era including “Bye Bye Love”, “Wake Up Little Susie”, “All I have To Do Is Dream”, “Bird Dog”, “Devoted To You” and others. Boudleaux was a classically-trained violinist who took up jazz, and started writing with his wife Felice after their whirlwind marriage in 1945. After years of trying, they sold their first song to publishers Acuff-Rose, and it was a hit in 1949 for Little Jimmy Dickens, after which they concentrated mainly on the country market, writing classics like “Hey Joe”, “How's the World Treating You” and “Midnight” to score huge hits before breaking into the pop arena to achieve success on both sides of the Atlantic, as artists of all kinds homed in on their material, including Buddy Holly who recorded their song “Raining In My Heart”. This great-value 54-track 2-CD set comprises every US and UK chart entry achieved by artists performing their songs through to 1962. It’s not only a testimony to their remarkable talent, but a fascinating trawl across the pop music landscape of the era, featuring a remarkable and impressive range of stars.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Country Boy Little Jimmy Dickens
2 It's a Lovely, Lovely World Carl Smith
3 Our Honeymoon Carl Smith
4 Somebody's Stolen My Honey Ernest Tubb
5 Have a Good Time Tony Bennett
6 Hey Joe Kitty Wells
7 How's the World Treating You Eddy Arnold
8 Hey Joe! Carl Smith
9 Just Wait 'Til I Get You Alone Carl Smith
10 Midnight Red Foley
11 Orchids Mean Goodbye Carl Smith
12 Hey Joe! Frankie Laine
13 Back Up Buddy Carl Smith
14 Christmas Can't Be Far Away Eddy Arnold
15 Out Behind the Barn Little Jimmy Dickens
16 I've Been Thinking Eddy Arnold
17 Hawk-Eye Frankie Laine
18 The Richest Man (In the World) Eddy Arnold
19 I'd Rather Stay Home Kitty Wells
20 Willie Can Alma Cogan
21 Tryin' to Forget the Blues Porter Wagoner
22 Willie Can The Beverley Sisters
23 Bye Bye Love The Everly Brothers
24 Tina Easy Riders
25 Bye, Bye Love Webb Pierce
26 Wake Up Little Susie The Everly Brothers
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Wake Up Little Susie King Brothers
2 Hey Sheriff Rusty & Doug
3 Crazy Dream Jim Dale
4 All I Have to Do Is Dream The Everly Brothers
5 Bird Dog The Everly Brothers
6 Blue Boy Jim Reeves
7 Devoted to You The Everly Brothers
8 Problems The Everly Brothers
9 Love of My Life The Everly Brothers
10 Poor Jenny The Everly Brothers
11 Raining in My Heart Buddy Holly
12 Take a Message to Mary The Everly Brothers
13 Sweet Sugar Lips The Kalin Twins
14 Johnny, My Love (Grandma's Diary) Wilma Lee & Stoney Cooper
15 Teen Ex The Browns
16 Always It's You The Everly Brothers
17 Let's Think About Living Bob Luman
18 I'm Not Afraid Ricky Nelson
19 Like Strangers The Everly Brothers
20 Brand New Heartache The Everly Brothers
21 My Last Date (With You) Skeeter Davis
22 Why, Why, Bye, Bye Bob Luman
23 My Last Date with You Joni James
24 How's the World Treating You The Louvin Brothers
25 Mexico Bob Moore
26 She Wears My Ring Jimmy Sweeney
27 So How Come (No One Loves Me) Don Gibson
28 Have a Good Time Sue Thompson
©2008 Acrobat Music