Acrobat Music

1955 British Hit Parade - The B Sides Part 1
1955 British Hit Parade - The B Sides Part 1

Various Artists
Styles: British Hit Parades, Pop
Catalogue Number: ACTRCD9069
Acrobat’s British Hit Parade series has been established for well over a decade as a unique range of completist original artist collections comprising every record that appeared in the UK record sales charts in every year since the charts began in 1952. In recent years Acrobat has introduced parallel collections which consist of the B sides of all the records included in the main compilations, and these have proved hugely popular with collectors, since many of the records concerned have never been available on CD and are very rarely heard. This 3-CD set is the first of two companion products to our existing 1955 British Hit Parade Parts One & Two (ACTRCD 9008 & 9009), and features the B sides of the tracks on Part One of those collections, excluding the ones which appeared on the original collection as Double A-side hits. It also includes the B sides of relevant records which were chart entries in the Melody Maker, Record Mirror and Record Retailer charts, and which were not included in the original sets, but appeared later on our “1950s British Hit Parades - The Hits We Missed” collection (ADDCD3078). As ever, it’s an eclectic snapshot of an ignored but fascinating aspect of the pop business, including in-depth 10-000+ word booklets with background notes on every record.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 I'll Be With You In Apple Blossom Time The Four Aces
2 Thirteen Women Bill Haley & His Comets
3 What Can You Do With A General Bing Crosby
4 Tell Me, Tell Me Suzi Miller & The Johnston Brothers
5 River Of No Return Tennessee Ernie Ford
6 Do You Love Old Santa Claus Max Bygraves
7 He's A Real Tough Guy Max Bygraves
8 Surprisingly Ronnie Harris & The Coronets
9 What Could Be More Beautiful Ruby Murray
10 Danger Signs Frankie Vaughan
11 Addio (Ah-Dee-O) The Ames Brothers
12 That's All I Want From You Dean Martin
13 Baby, Baby, Baby Teresa Brewer
14 Open Your Heart David Whitfield
15 These Are The Things We'll Share Ray Burns
16 Lazy Gondolier Mantovani & His Orchestra
17 It's Love De Castro Sisters
18 Marionette Joan Weber
19 Fascinating Rhythm Petula Clark
20 Beloved Mario Lanza
21 I Want You All To Myself (Just You) Dickie Valentine
22 (My Baby Don't Love Me) No More The Stargazers
23 Alone Too Long Nat King Cole
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 High As A Mountain Johnny Brandon & The Phantoms
2 Old Shoes Frankie Laine
3 A Man Chases A Girl (Until She Catches Him) Eddie Fisher
4 Before We Know It Ruby Murray
5 Maria Elena Pérez Prado
6 When You're In Love Joan Regan
7 Lovin' Spree Eartha Kitt
8 The Devil's In Your Eyes Don Cornell
9 Roses Of Picardy Eddie Calvert
10 You, My Love Doris Day
11 Alexander's Ragtime Band Johnnie Ray
12 What Could Be More Beautiful Dean Martin
13 Take Me Back Again Tony Bennett
14 Birth Of The Boogie Bill Haley & The Comets
15 Ko Ko Mo (I Love You So) The Crew-Cuts
16 Vera Cruz Tony Martin
17 Give Me The Moonlight Give Me The Girl Frankie Vaughan
18 Am I Too Late The Ink Spots
19 If You Learn To Love Each Other Joan Regan
20 Prize Of Gold Ronnie Hilton
21 (The Diddle-Ee-I) Irish Mambo Alma Cogan
22 Help Me Forget Jimmy Young
23 You're Wrong, All Wrong Georgia Gibbs
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Who Gave You The Roses Bing Crosby
2 Daybreak Al Hibbler
3 Brahms' Lullaby (Close Your Eyes) Rosemary Clooney
4 Parade Of Broken Hearts Johnnie Ray
5 You'll Always Be The One The Four Aces feat. Al Alberts
6 Gabrielle Cyril Stapleton and His Orchestra
7 Sing It With Joe Joe 'Mr. Piano' Henderson
8 Sincerely Eddie Calvert
9 You Too Can Be A Dreamer Dickie Valentine
10 The Medic Theme Les Baxter, His Chorus & Orchestra
11 Hey Mr. Banjo The Stargazers
12 Just One Of Those Things Frank Sinatra
13 Here's What I'm Here For Judy Garland
14 I'll Never Be The Same Jane Froman
15 The Bridges At Toko-Ri (Love Theme) Liberace
16 Bubbles Frankie Laine
17 Pendulum Song Barbara Lyon
18 Bambino Ruby Murray
19 Mama Malcolm Vaughan
20 Strike It Lucky Johnny Brandon
21 We Stood At The Altar Slim Whitman
©2008 Acrobat Music