Acrobat Music

The Songs Behind The Legends - The Beatles

Various Artists
Styles: Pop, R&B, Rock 'n' roll
Catalogue Number: ACRCD351
Just as rock ‘n’ roll itself was a synthesis of a variety of musical strands across R&B, blues, country and jazz, the music of The Beatles drew on an eclectic range of musical experiences across the popular music spectrum which had pervaded their childhood and teenage years, and they continued to absorb new influences even after they had found fame. The sounds they grew up with helped shape their unique musical personality that marked them out as among the most original and innovative songwriters and artists of the post-rock ‘n’ roll era. This great-value 30-track CD brings together some of the records which influenced the way they performed and the repertoire of their early years – indeed they recorded their own versions of some of the songs on their first albums. It’s a hugely entertaining collection of music in its own right, but it also provides a fascinating insight into what helped make them such a unique force in music.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Rocket 88 Jackie Brenston & His Delta Cats
2 Lawdy Miss Clawdy Lloyd Price
3 I’ve Got A Woman Ray Charles
4 Heartbreak Hotel Elvis Presley
5 Brown Eyed Handsome Man Chuck Berry
6 I'm In Love Again Fats Domino
7 Be-Bop-A-Lula Gene Vincent & The Blue Caps
8 Matchbox Carl Perkins
9 Cool Shake The Del-Vikings
10 Flyin’ Saucers Rock ‘N’ Roll Billy Riley & His Little Green Men
11 Gamblin’ Man Lonnie Donegan
12 Words Of Love Buddy Holly & The Crickets
13 Bad Boy Larry Williams
14 Yakety Yak The Coasters
15 Do You Wanna Dance? Bobby Freeman
16 Oh Little Girl Dee Clark
17 Ain’t Nothin’ Shakin’ Eddie Fontaine
18 Somethin’ Else Eddie Cochran
19 Kansas City / Hey-Hey-Hey-Hey! Little Richard
20 Shout! (Pt. 1) The Isley Brothers
21 Money (That’s What I Want) Barrett Strong 
22 Cathys Clown Everly Brothers
23 Spanish Harlem Ben E. King
24 Will You Love Me Tomorrow The Shirelles
25 Shake It Up, Baby The Top Notes
26 Shop Around Smokey Robinson & The Miracles
27 Hey! Baby Bruce Channel
28 Chains The Cookies
29 Tell Him The Exciters
30 A Taste Of Honey Lenny Welch
©2008 Acrobat Music