Acrobat Music

The British Hit Parade 1956-58
The British Hit Parade 1956-58

Various Artists
Styles: Pop
Catalogue Number: ADDCD3246
The music business was transformed in the middle years of the 1950s by the arrival of rock ‘n’ roll as not only a powerful and increasingly evident element in the record sales charts, but a catalyst for huge social change as the teenage baby-boomers asserted themselves as an economic force. Acrobat has a long-established, popular and successful series called The British Hit Parade which, for the years 1956, 1957 and 1958 comprise two 4-CD sets for each year featuring every record which appeared in the UK Top 30 during those years – a total of around 600 records across the three years. This great-value 40-track 2-CD set comprises a distillation of some of the biggest hits across those three cataclysmic years as American rock ‘n’ roll legends made inroads into the established order of middle-of-the-road 50s pop, and then Britain started to develop teen stars of its own. Every single one of the records in this collection was either a No.1 or No. 2 in the charts, so these are hits that many people who were growing up through those years will remember as key landmarks in a teenage rite of passage, from skiffle to novelty hits, big ballads to out-and-out rock ‘n’ roll. It makes for evocative and hugely entertaining listening.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Sixteen Tons Tennessee Ernie Ford
2 It's Almost Tomorrow The Dreamweavers
3 Poor People Of Paris Winifred Atwell
4 I'll Be Home Pat Boone
5 Heartbreak Hotel Elvis Presley
6 Why Do Fools Fall In love Frankie Lymon & the Teenagers
7 Lay Down Your Arms Anne Shelton
8 Singing The Blues Guy Mitchell
9 When I Fall In Love Nat King Cole
10 Butterfly Andy Williams
11 Yes Tonight Josephine Johnnie Ray
12 Puttin' On The Style Lonnie Donegan
13 Great Balls Of Fire Jerry Lee Lewis
14 Diana Paul Anka
15 Magic Moments Perry Como
16 Who’s Sorry Now Connie Francis
17 Big Man Four Preps
18 When The Kalin Twins
19 It’s Only Make Believe Conway Twitty
20 As I Love You Shirley Bassey
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Memories Are Made Of This Dean Martin
2 Rock And Roll Waltz Kay Starr
3 No Other Love Ronnie Hilton
4 Whatever Will Be Will Be Doris Day
5 Just Walking In The Rain Johnnie Ray
6 Garden Of Eden Frankie Vaughan
7 Young Love Tab Hunter
8 Rock A Billy Guy Mitchell
9 All Shook Up Elvis Presley
10 Love Letters In The Sand Pat Boone
11 The Story Of My Life Michael Holliday
12 Whole Lotta Woman Marvin Rainwater
13 Tom Hark Elias And His Zig Zag Jive Flutes
14 On The Street Where You Live Vic Damone
15 All I Have To Do Is Dream The Everly Brothers
16 Volare (Nel Blu Dipinto Di Blu) Dean Martin
17 Move It Cliff Richard & The Drifters
18 It’s All In The Game Tommy Edwards
19 Hoots Mon Lord Rockingham’s X1
20 The Day The Rains Came Jane Morgan
©2008 Acrobat Music