Acrobat Music

The 1959 R&B Hits Collection
The 1959 R&B Hits Collection

Various Artists
Styles: America's Greatest Hits, R&B
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7171
This continues the strand of R&B and country collections associated with Acrobat’s highly popular “America’s Greatest Hits” series, this one focusing on the top R&B records in the US Billboard charts during 1959. This great value 115-track 4-CD anthology includes, with the exception of certain records which are unavailable for inclusion due to copyright restrictions, just about every record which peaked in the Top 14 positions of Billboard’s “Hot R&B Sides” chart during the year. The pop and R&B market was continuing to evolve as rock ‘n’ roll matured, and new strands arrived, with pop-flavoured R&B vocal groups making a significant impact, along with fine R&B vocalists who readily crossed into the pop charts, while the boundaries between pop and R&B continued to become less clear, as some pure pop records got traction on R&B radio stations. As a result a lot of familiar rock ‘n’ roll names appear in this collection along with one or two that will cause raised eyebrows in terms their R&B credentials. However, what that does is create a fascinating and varied collection as blues guitarists, doo-wop groups, R&B divas, great R&B vocalists and jazz orchestras jostle for position with big-name rock ‘n’ rollers, and who would say any of their records don’t belong in the R&B chart? There were 15 different No. 1s, shared by 11 artists, with the great vocalists Brook Benton, Jackie Wilson and Lloyd Price the only ones with more than one chart-topper, and Benton having the longest-running No. 1 of the year. As with all these collections, it provides a window onto a dynamic and exciting musical environment, and includes a number of unfamiliar names and recordings of which even enthusiasts of the genre may not be too aware, and which will be welcome additions to their collections. It contains a 12,000+ word booklet featuring background notes on every record as well as full discographical and chart information.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Lonely Teardrops Jackie Wilson
2 Stagger Lee Lloyd Price
3 A Lover's Question Clyde McPhatter
4 Whole Lotta Lovin' Fats Domino
5 Chipmunk Song David Seville
6 Try Me (I Need You) James Brown and The Famous Flames
7 Nobody But You Dee Clark
8 Smoke Gets In Your Eyes The Platters
9 Tom Dooley Kingston Trio
10 Pretty Girls Everywhere Eugene Church and The Fellows
11 I Cried A Tear Lavern Baker
12 Love You Most Of All Sam Cooke
13 (Night Time Is) The Right Time Ray Charles
14 To Know Him Is To Love Him Teddy Bears
15 One Night Elvis Presley
16 16 Candles Crests
17 Sweet Home Chicago Little Jr. Parker
18 My Happiness Connie Francis
19 It's Just A Matter Of Time Brook Benton
20 Donna Ritchie Valens
21 No Regrets Jimmy Barnes
22 Charlie Brown The Coasters
23 Peter Gunn Theme Ray Anthony
24 Everybody Likes To Cha Cha Sam Cooke
25 Venus Frankie Avalon
26 Telling Lies Fats Domino
27 Come To Me Marv Johnson
28 Come Softly To Me Fleetwoods
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Where Were You On Our Wedding Day Lloyd Price
2 That's Why Jackie Wilson
3 Since I Don't Have You The Skyliners
4 So Fine Fiesta
5 Almost Grown Chuck Berry
6 You're So Fine The Falcons
7 Guess Who Jesse Belvin
8 Sea Cruise Frankie Ford
9 Lovey Dovey Clyde McPhatter
10 Pink Shoelaces Dodie Stevens
11 This Should Go On Forever Rod Bernard
12 Kansas City Wilbert Harrison
13 Happy Organ Dave (Baby) Cortez
14 Enchanted The Platters
15 I Need Your Lovin' Roy Hamilton
16 So Close Brook Benton
17 I Waited Too Long Lavern Baker
18 Five Long Years Little Jr. Parker
19 Endlessly Brook Benton
20 Quiet Village Martin Denny
21 Personality Lloyd Price
22 Battle Of New Orleans Johnny Horton
23 I'm Ready Fats Domino
24 Dream Lover Bobby Darin
25 Sorry, I Ran All The Way Home The Impalas
26 There Is Something On Your Mind Big Jay McNeely
27 Tallahassee Lassie Freddy Cannon
28 There Goes My Baby The Drifters
29 I Only Have Eyes For You The Flamingos
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Along Came Jones The Coasters
2 Lonely Boy Paul Anka
3 What A Difference A Day Makes Dinah Washington
4 Just Keep It Up Dee Clark
5 Lipstick On Your Collar Connie Francis
6 I'm Not Ashamed Bobby (Blue) Bland
7 Waterloo Stonewall Jackson
8 What'd I Say Ray Charles
9 I'll Be Satisfied Jackie Wilson
10 Only Sixteen Sam Cooke
11 Thank You Pretty Baby Brook Benton
12 Since You've Been Gone Clyde McPhatter
13 I Loves You Porgy Nina Simone
14 Lavender Blue Sammy Turner
15 I Want To Walk You Home Fats Domino
16 My Heart Is An Open Book Carl Dobkins
17 A Big Hunk O' Love Elvis Presley
18 I'm Gonna Get Married Lloyd Price
19 Sea Of Love Phil Phillips
20 Crackin' Up Bo Diddley
21 Red River Rock Johnny & The Hurricanes
22 The Three Bells The Browns
23 Miami Eugene Church
24 Sleep Walk Santo And Johnny
25 Midnight Flyer Nat King Cole
26 Poison Ivy The Coasters
27 So High, So Low Lavern Baker
28 Linda Lu Ray Sharpe
29 Say Man Bo Diddley
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 Broken Hearted Melody Sarah Vaughan
2 Hey Little Girl Dee Clark
3 You Better Know It Jackie Wilson
4 Mack The Knife Bobby Darin
5 Mary Lou Ronnie Hawkins & The Hawks
6 Put Your Head On My Shoulder Paul Anka
7 Don't You Know Della Reese
8 Mr. Blue The Fleetwoods
9 Primrose Lane Jerry Wallace With The Jewels
10 (If You Cry) True Love, True Love The Drifters
11 So Many Ways Brook Benton
12 I Don't Know Ruth Brown
13 Dance With Me The Drifters
14 Always Sammy Turner
15 The Clouds Spacemen
16 You Got What It Takes Marv Johnson
17 Smooth Operator Sarah Vaughan
18 Misty Johnny Mathis
19 You Went Back On Your Word Clyde McPhatter
20 The Angels Listened In Crests
21 Come Into My Heart Lloyd Price
22 In The Mood Ernie Fields
23 Be My Guest Fats Domino
24 I'm Movin' On Ray Charles
25 Talk That Talk Jackie Wilson
26 Smokie (Part II) Bill Black Combo
27 Uh! Oh! Nutty Squirrels
28 Fannie Mae Buster Brown
29 I'll Take Care Of You Bobby (Blue) Bland
©2008 Acrobat Music