Acrobat Music

Texas Blues Volume 2 - Rock Awhile
Texas Blues Volume 2 - Rock Awhile

Various Artists
Styles: Blues
Catalogue Number: ACMCD4004
Here in Vol 2 are 20 more examples of Texas Blues from the late forties and early fifties. Texas had been amongst thefirst states to provide a distinctive sound and style in the 1920?s. With the CountryBlues. Again in the late Forties came a new sound often led by guitaristsinfluenced by T- Bone Walker playing in front of a sax led bands. On this volume we hear sound of Goree Carter one of T-Bones most devout disciples, he plays on 10 of these tracks.The majority of these titles come from lesser known Texas labels.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Rock Awhile Goree Carter And His Hepcats
2 Flychick Bounce Lonnie Lyons Combo
3 Let's Have Some Fun Jessie Thomas
4 Hoy Hoy Goree Carter And His Hepcats
5 Down In The Groovy Lonnie Lyons - His Piano And Orchestra
6 Oo Wee Baby Carl Campbell And Orchestra
7 Louisiana Blues L.C. Williams with J.C. Conney's Orchestra
8 My Love Coming Down Goree Carter And His Hepcats
9 Jumpin' The Blues Joe Houston Trio And Orchestra
10 I'm Gonna Leave You Clarence Samuels And Orchestra
11 Come On Let's Boogie Goree Carter
12 Getting High Carl Campbell And Orchestra
13 Sneaky Joe Lonnie Lyons - His Piano And Orchestra
14 Make Her See Things My Way Joe 'Papoose' Fritz And His Orchestra
15 I Wonder Why Fatman Smith & Caladonia's Boys Orchestra
16 Leave My Girl Alone Smilin 'Smokey' Lynn w/ Bill Harvey And His Orchestra
17 Sittin' And Thinkin' Memphis Slim And His Orchestra
18 Blues Pick On Me Peppermint Harris
19 Tell Me Is There Still A Chance Goree Carter
20 I Went To See A Gypsy Elmore Nixon with Henry Hayes And His Rhythm Kings
©2008 Acrobat Music