Acrobat Music

The 1960 British Hit Parade Part 3
The 1960 British Hit Parade Part 3

Various Artists
Styles: British Hit Parades
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7033
Acrobat Music’s series of British Hit Parade collections has become an essential annual purchase for a significant number of collectors and enthusiasts who wish to hear and own every record that entered the British record charts during each year. This year, the collection moves out of the ‘50s, and with the introduction of the Record Retailer Top 50 chart in 1960 alongside the NME, MM, Disc and Record Mirror charts, the number of records qualifying for inclusion has risen significantly – no less than 353 titles. Because many of them were extraordinarily short, these can be accommodated on 12 CDs, and we have chosen to present the series in three 4-CD collections, our now established format Part Three includes in chronological order of chart entry the original versions of every record that featured in the charts mentioned between 1st Sept. and the end of the year (one 1st. Sept. entry closes Part 2) , with nearly four hours of eclectic and fascinating entertainment. The music of 1960 reflected the way the business was in a state of flux - teen idols stepping into the shoes of the rock ‘n’ roll pioneers, instrumental hits of all kinds making a strong showing, glamorous pop starlets, ‘50s icons still hanging in there, trad jazz taking over from the last vestiges of skiffle, international novelties, and of course, some important new names emerging alongside a fine array of one-hit wonders. The three collections, each with nearly 120 tracks, tell an absorbing story of a musical year which heralded a momentous decade. You may be aware that another company has made an opportunist attempt to mimic our series – we like to think that Acrobat’s are the “official” version, and we offer the only complete, comprehensive, coherent annual series. We thank our customers for supporting our British Hit Parade releases, and are sure this will one will prove as popular as the rest.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Volare Bobby Rydell
2 You Mean Everything To Me Neil Sedaka
3 Little Boy Lost Michael Holliday
4 Them There Eyes Emile Ford
5 Walk Don’t Run The Ventures
6 Broken Doll Tommy Bruce & The Bruisers
7 White Silver Sands Bill Blacks Combo
8 Nice N Easy Frank Sinatra
9 McDonalds Cave Piltdown Men
10 I Just Go For You Jimmy Jones
11 Let's Think About Living Bob Luman
12 Walk Don’t Run John Barry Seven
13 How About That Adam Faith with John Barry & His Orchestra
14 Hello Young Lovers Paul Anka
15 All My Lov Jackie Wilson
16 Caribbean Honeymoon Frank Weir
17 A Kookie Little Paradise Frankie Vaughan
18 The Twist Chubby Checker
19 Nine Times Out Of Ten Cliff Richard
20 So Sad Everly Brothers
21 Lucille Everly Brothers
22 Wondrous Place Billy Fury
23 Jet Black Machine Vince Taylor
24 I’ll Be Your Hero Vince Taylor
25 Fish Man Ian Menzies & The Clyde Valley Stompers
26 Passing Breeze Russ Conway
27 Gotta Get A Date Frank Ifield
28 Rocking Goose Johnny And The Hurricanes
29 Chain Gang Sam Cooke
30 Dreamin’ Johnny Burnette
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Restless Johnny Kidd And The Pirates
2 Sweetie Pie Eddie Cochran
3 Eee o Eleven Sammy Davis Jr.
4 How High The Moon Ella Fitzgerald
5 Kiddio Brook Benton
6 My Love For You Johnny Mathis
7 My Little Corner Of The World Anita Bryant
8 Never On Sunday Don Costa
9 Shortnin’ Bread Viscounts
10 Rockin’ Alone Miki And Griff
11 Never On Sunday Manuel And His Music Of The Mountains
12 Sunday Date The Fleerekkers
13 Along Came Caroline Michael Cox
14 Learning The Game Buddy Holly
15 Never On Sunday Makadopoulous & His Greek Serenaders
16 Four Little Heels Brian Hyland
17 I Want To Be Wanted Brenda Lee
18 Top Teen Baby Gary Mills
19 Never On Sunday Lynn Cornell
20 Mr Custer Charlie Drake
21 Obsession Reg Owen Orchestra
22 Happy Go Lucky Blues Tommy Steele
23 Blue Angel Roy Orbison
24 Sorry Robbie Bert Weedon
25 Milord Frankie Vaughan
26 Never On Sunday Chaquito And His Orchestra
27 Four Little Heels Avons
28 Don’t Be Cruel Bill Blacks Combo
29 Its Now Or Never Elvis Presley
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Save The Last Dance For Me The Drifters
2 My Heart Has A Mind Of Its Own Connie Francis
3 Lonely Eddie Cochran
4 Three Nights A Week Fats Domino
5 Il nostro Concerto Umberto Bindi
6 Kickin' Up The Leaves Mark Wynter
7 Man Of Mystery The Shadows
8 The Stranger The Shadows
9 Goodness Gracious Me Peter Sellers And Sophia Loren
10 Today’s Teardrops Roy Orbison
11 Just As Much As Ever Nat King Cole
12 Kommotion Duane Eddy & The Rebels
13 Ready For Love Jimmy Jones
14 Lonely Pup Adam Faith
15 Little Donkey Nina And Frederick
16 Boy Without A Girl Anthony Newley
17 Strawberry Fair Anthony Newley
18 Ol' Macdonald Frank Sinatra
19 Lively Lonnie Donegan
20 Even More Party Pops Russ Conway
21 One Of The Lucky Ones Joan Regan
22 I Believe David Whitfield
23 Wild Side Of Life Josh Macrae
24 I Love You Cliff Richard
25 D In Love Cliff Richard
26 Gurney Slade Theme Max Harris
27 Perfidia The Ventures
28 Georgia On My Mind Ray Charles
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 Poetry In Motion Johnny Tillotson
2 Black Stockings John Barry Seven
3 Buona Sera Mr. Acker Bilk & His Paramount Jazz Band
4 Virgin Mary Lonnie Donegan
5 Charming Billy Johnny Preston
6 Counting Teardrops Emile Ford & the Checkmates
7 Deep Feeling Mike Sagar & The Cresters
8 Time Will Tell Iain Gregory
9 Sway Bobby Rydell
10 Why Why Bye Bye Bob Luman
11 Like Strangers Everly Brothers
12 Portrait Of My Love Matt Monro
13 Donald Where’s Your Troosers Andy Stewart
14 You Talk Too Much Johnny Carson
15 G.I Blues Elvis Presley
16 Little Girl Marty Wilde
17 Strawberry Blonde Frank D’rone
18 Togetherness Mike Preston
19 Alone At Last Jackie Wilson
20 Blue Eyed Boy Al Saxon
21 Little White Berry Roy Castle
22 Onward Christian Soldiers Harry Simeone Chorale
23 Till Tony Bennett
24 Let's Slip Away Cleo Laine
25 Must Be Santa Tommy Steele
26 Let's Sarah Vaughan
27 Serenata Sarah Vaughan
28 Ten Swingin Bottles Pete Chester And The Consulates
29 Pepe Russ Conway
30 It’s You That I Love Marion Ryan
©2008 Acrobat Music