Acrobat Music

The Ones That Got Away 1960
The Ones That Got Away 1960

Various Artists
Styles: Pop
Catalogue Number: ACMCD4358
Many collectors will already have Acrobat’s three volumes of The 1960 British Hit Parade, which contain the 350+ records which made one or other version of the UK record charts during that year. This great-value 30-track collection brings together thirty of the excellent records which didn’t quite make it to the charts, some of them precursors to an artist’s eventual chart breakthrough, others representing a temporary lull in an established act’s chart career, while others were the closest that the artists in question ever got. Many of the tracks feature well-known artists, while others are by real obscurities, and the fact that they weren’t hits means that for some tracks, this is the first time they have made it on to CD, and as such very collectable. As ever, it’s a fascinating snapshot of the pop landscape of the time, and an album that will help pop enthusiasts get some relatively unheralded gems into their collection.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Sandy Larry Hall
2 Rockin’ Little Angel The Viscounts
3 Doggin’ Around Jackie Wilson
4 Years Between Maureen Evans
5 This Magic Moment The Drifters
6 Ah Poor Little Baby Adam Faith
7 Teenage Sonata Sam Cooke
8 Standing On The Corner Dickie Valentine
9 Step By Step The Crests
10 Red Sails In The Sunset The Platters
11 Hear Them Bells Bobby Darin
12 Mission Bell Gary Miller
13 Think James Brown
14 Happy Go Lucky Me Frank Ifield
15 Tell Laura I Love Her Ray Peterson
16 Movin’ Away Ricky Valance
17 Gonna Find Me A Bluebird Russ Hamilton
18 Twins Paul Evans
19 A Million To One Jimmy Charles
20 The Girl On The Floor Above John Leyton
21 Patsy Jack Scott
22 Chain Gang Ronnie Carroll
23 Come Rain Come Shine Ray Charles
24 Swe-Danes Shuffle The Swe-Danes
25 Fannie Mae Buster Brown
26 I’ll Save The Last Dance For You Damita Jo
27 Tamiami Bill Haley & His Comets
28 Banjo Boy The Honey Twins
29 Long Time To Forget Miki & Grif
30 Chick A’Roo Ricky Wayne and the Fabulous Fleerekkers
©2008 Acrobat Music