Acrobat Music

The 1961 British Hit Parade: The B Sides Part 1
The 1961 British Hit Parade: The B Sides Part 1

Various Artists
Styles: British Hit Parades
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7040

Released 13th February 2012

Acrobat Music’s series of British Hit Parade collections has become an essential annual purchase for a significant number of collectors and enthusiasts who wish to hear and own every record that entered the British record charts during each year. This year, for the first time, and as the result of suggestions from several of our regular collectors of the series, we are presenting parallel collections to the main British Hit Parade releases comprising the ‘B’ sides of all the tracks that appear in the main set. The only exceptions are where the original hit was a double ‘A’ side, where both sides charted, as a result of which both of the tracks appear in the main Hit Parade collection. With this caveat, Part One includes the original ‘B’ sides of every record that entered the charts mentioned between Jan. 1st and 27th April in chronological order of chart entry, and they make for truly eclectic and fascinating entertainment. The story of how ‘B’ sides come to be what they are is a fascinating one and varies greatly from record to record. Some featured songs that were written by either the producer, the artist’s manager or someone else with sufficient influence to ensure that if the ‘A’ side were a hit, they would collect 50% of the publishing income from the sales. Others were, of course, complete throwaways, dashed off in the last 10 minutes of a session purely as make-weights. In contrast, some started life as the intended ‘A’ side, only to be overshadowed as promotion people or radio DJs spotted the potential of the ‘B’ side. The fascination is that, in most cases, with the passage of time, we will never know the true story, and the tracks will simply stand to be judged on their merits or otherwise. Whatever the case, they will very often provide collectors with a piece of the artist’s work that they have never heard before, and the majority, we suspect, will never have been available on CD before. We are sure that many purchasers of the main sets will be keen to acquire the ‘B’ sides to ensure the completeness of their collection.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Do You Believe Maurice Williams & The Zodiacs
2 Natural Born Lover Fats Domino
3 Will Santy Come To Shanty Town Joan Regan
4 Lost Friend Duane Eddy
5 I Beg Your Pardon Johnny Burnette
6 Senza Mama (With No One) Connie Francis
7 Bubbles In The Tar Piltdown Men
8 The Muckin' O' Geordie's Byre Andy Stewart
9 Zoo Be Zoo Be Zoo Sophia Loren
10 Night Theme Rhet Stoller
11 Si Si Si The King Brothers
12 I'm Waiting For Tomorrow Danny Rivers
13 I Gotta Know Elvis Presley
14 Every Day Bobby Vee
15 Rock-A-Bye Baby Blues Brenda Lee
16 Push Push Billy Fury
17 Please Forgive Me Gary US Bonds
18 The Mansion You Stole Johnny Horton
19 Workin' Hard The Olympics
20 Little Miss Blue Dion
21 Be My Girl Ray Peterson
22 Like Makin' Love Marty Wilde
23 My Heart (Amor) Petula Clark
24 Souvenir Of Ireland Anne Shelton
25 The Big White House Jess Conrad
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Cool And Cosy The Avons
2 The Switch Joe Brown
3 That's What They Say Buddy Holly
4 Honey Bop Wanda Jackson
5 The Same Old Fool Neil Sedaka
6 Yearning Bert Weedon
7 The Very Thought Of You Nat King Cole
8 His True Love Said Goodbye Johnny Tillotson
9 Boys The Shirelles
10 Midnight The Shadows
11 High Class Feeling Josh Macrae
12 Darling Charlie Frank Cordell And His Orch
13 With Love (For You) Tommy Zang
14 Someday You'll Want me To Want You Brook Benton
15 Melodie D'Amour Lawrence Welk And His Orchestra
16 There's One Thing More The Allisons
17 Am I Asking Too Much The String-a-Longs
18 Zig Zag The Ramrods
19 Moanin' Johnny Dankworth & His Orchestra
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Nuages Kenny Ball And His Jazz Band
2 Don't You Dare Let Me Down Conway Twitty
3 Big Man The Packabeats
4 Let's Take A Spin Tony Osborne
5 Mumblin' Mosie Cliff Richard And The Shadows
6 Mr. Lonely Johnny And The Hurricanes
7 Driftwood Buzz Clifford
8 I Like Everybody The King Brothers
9 A Kiss To Build A Dream On Emile Ford And The Checkmates
10 Skid Row The John Barry Seven
11 Tonight Is So Right For Love Elvis Presley
12 Girl Without A Heart Mike Preston
13 This Time Matt Monro
14 Twilight Ferrante And Teicher
15 The Great Impostor The Piltdown Men
16 Peak Hour The Krew Kats
17 Two Little Girls Mark Wynter
18 Lonely Heart The Ventures
19 Oo-Ee-Train Bobby Darin
20 Lonely Boy And Pretty Girl Anthony Newley
21 Lark In The Clear Air Semprini
22 Sadie My Lady The Drifters
23 I'd Like To Be Jim Reeves
24 When I'm With You Helen Shapiro
25 I Laughed So Hard I Cried Gene Pitney
26 Bucket Of Tears Peggy Lee
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 Boots Nero And The Gladiators
2 Cherie Bobby Rydell
3 Charley My Boy The Temperance Seven
4 I Cannot Find A True Love Cliff Richard And The Shadows
5 Sometimes The Brook Brothers
6 Oh, Susannah Chubby Checker
7 You Got It Jimmy Jones
8 My Dearest Dear Teddy Johnson & Pearl Carr
9 I'm Learning About Love Brenda Lee
10 Karen from "Exodus" Mantovani And His Orchestra
11 Mood Indigo Floyd Cramer
12 Goodbye To Love The Marcels
13 Pledge Of Love Johnny Burnette
14 Roy's Tune Kokomo, His Piano And Orchestra
15 Isn't This A Lovely Day Petula Clark
16 Spring Is Near The Outlaws
17 Let's Talk About Us Johnny Kidd And The Pirates
18 The Battle Duane Eddy
19 Hello Spring Craig Douglas
20 Two Thousand ** Freddy Cannon
21 Sentimental Baby Frank Sinatra
22 Don't Read The Letter Alma Cogan
23 Jody Del Shannon
24 Wonderin' Adam Faith
25 Talkin' In My Sleep Billy Fury And The Four Kestrels
©2008 Acrobat Music