Acrobat Music

The Rock 'n' Roll Explosion
The Rock 'n' Roll Explosion

Various Artists
Styles: Pop, Rock 'n' roll
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7046
This is a re-issue in a 4-CD set of a highly popular and successful Acrobat release which was originally released as a 6-CD set, but now discontinued in that form. Here in one unique collection is the opportunity to hear 120 of the early Rock and Roll tracks that changed the face of popular music forever. For the ‘baby boom’ generation, 1956 was a cataclysmic year, as suddenly a whole swathe of exciting new music was heard among the bland offerings on mainstream radio. This was rock ‘n’ roll, but what happened that year was not a sudden revolution – the elements of the style had been developing in R &B, country, blues and rockabilly for several years. It was, perhaps, the catalyst of mass media, especially TV, that gave the burgeoning young market access to the music. These are the recordings that became the soundtrack to a generation’s life, as ‘teenagers’ became a new social force in the post war world. Elvis Presley, Carl Perkins, Chuck Berry, Little Richard and Fats Domino, the architects of a revolutionary sound, are all featured here alongside the R&B and country pioneers who sowed the seeds that led to this explosion of new music. Full liner notes with detailed history of all of the 120 tracks make this the one of the most comprehensive collections of Rock’s early years. Vol. 1 : May 1951-Mar. 1955. Vol. 2 : Mar. 1955-Nov. 1955. Vol. 3 : Nov. 1955-Apr. 1956. Vol. 4 : Apr. 1956-July 1956. Vol. 5. : July 1956-Oct. 1956. Vol. 6 : Oct. 1956-Dec. 1956.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 Rocket 88 Jackie Brenston and his Delta Cats
2 Sixty Minute Man The Dominoes
3 5-10-15 Hours Ruth Brown
4 Mama He Treats Your Daughter Mean Ruth Brown
5 Crazy Man Crazy Bill Haley With Haley’s Comets
6 Honey Hush Big Joe Turner
7 Money Honey The Drifters
8 Such a Night The Drifters
9 Lucille The Drifters
10 That’s Allright Elvis Presley
11 Blue Moon of Kentucky Elvis Presley
12 Shake Rattle and Roll Bill Haley and His Comets
13 Good Rocking Tonight Elvis Presley
14 Dim Dim the Lights Bill Haley and His Comets
15 Bip Bam The Drifters featuring Clyde Mcphatter
16 Tweedlee Dee Lavern Baker
17 You’re a Heartbreaker Elvis Presley
18 Ling Ting Tong The Five Keys
19 Mambo Rock Bill Haley and His Comets
20 Milkcow Blues Boogie Elvis Presley
21 Whatcha Gonna Do Clyde Mcphatter and The Drifters
22 Maybellene Chuck Berry
23 Ain’t It a Shame Fats Domino
24 Bo Diddley Bo Diddley
25 Rock Around the Clock Bill Haley and His Comets
26 Diddley Daddy Bo Diddley
27 Razzle Dazzle Bill Haley and His Comets
28 Baby Let’s Play House Elvis Presley
29 Two Hound Dogs Bill Haley and His Comets
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 I’m Left You’re Right She’s Gone Elvis Presley
2 I Hear You Knocking Smiley Lewis
3 I Forgot to Remember to Forget Elvis Presley
4 At My Front Door The Eldorados
5 All By Myself Fats Domino
6 Thirty Days Chuck Berry
7 Blueberry Hill Fats Domino
8 Only You The Platters
9 When You Dance Turbans
10 Poor Me Fats Domino
11 Rock a Beatin Boogie Bill Haley and His Comets
12 Burn That Candle Bill Haley and His Comets
13 Mystery Train Elvis Presley
14 The Great Pretender The Platters
15 Smokey Joe’s Café The Robins
16 Speedo The Cadillacs
17 See You Later Alligator Bill Haley and His Comets
18 Tutti Frutti Little Richard
19 Pretty Thing Bo Diddley
20 No Money Down Chuck Berry
21 Why Do Fools Fall in Love The Teenagers featuring Frankie Lymon
22 Bo Weevil Fats Domino
23 The Magic Touch The Platters
24 Blue Suede Shoes Carl Perkins
25 I Was the One Elvis Presley
26 Honey Don’t Carl Perkins
27 Heartbreak Hotel Elvis Presley
28 I’m in Love Again Fats Domino
29 R.O.C.K. Bill Haley and His Comets
30 I Want You to Be My Girl Frankie Lymon And The Teenagers
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 Long Tall Sally Little Richard
2 Slippin and Slidin Little Richard
3 Blue Suede Shoes Elvis Presley
4 My Blue Heaven Fats Domino
5 Corrinne Corrina Big Joe Turner
6 I Want You I Need You I Love You Elvis Presley
7 Money Honey Elvis Presley
8 Ruby Baby The Drifters
9 My Baby Left Me Elvis Presley
10 Roll Over Beethoven Chuck Berry
11 Hot Dog Buddy Buddy Bill Haley and His Comets
12 Rip It Up Little Richard
13 Ooby Dooby Roy Orbison
14 Bring It to Jerome Bo Diddley
15 Be Bop a Lu La Gene Vincent and his Blue Caps
16 My Prayer The Platters
17 Rock and Roll Ruby Warren Smith
18 Who Can Explain Frankie Lymon And The Teenagers
19 Let the Good Times Roll Shirley And Lee
20 Boppin the Blues Carl Perkins
21 I Promise to Remember Frankie Lymon And The Teenagers
22 Ready Teddy Little Richard
23 Red Headed Woman Sonny Burgess
24 Hound Dog Elvis Presley
25 When My Dreamboat Comes Home Fats Domino
26 Don’t Be Cruel Elvis Presley
27 Honky Tonk Pt 1 Bill Doggett
28 Honky Tonk Pt 2 Bill Doggett
29 Rip It Up Bill Haley and His Comets
30 In the Still of the Nite The Five Satins
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 Green Door Jim Lowe
2 Lipstick Powder and Paint Big Joe Turner
3 Who Do You Love Bo Diddley
4 You’ll Never Know The Platters
5 Too Much Monkey Business Chuck Berry
6 Bluejean Bop Gene Vincent and his Blue Caps
7 The ABC’s of Love Frankie Lymon And The Teenagers
8 She’s Got It Little Richard
9 Love Me Tender Elvis Presley
10 Ka Ding Dong The G Clefs
11 I Dont Care If the Sun Don’t Shine Elvis Presley
12 Brown Eyed Handsome Man Chuck Berry
13 Race With the Devil Gene Vincent
14 I Feel Good Shirley And Lee
15 Rudy’s Rock Bill Haley and His Comets
16 Anyway You Want Me Elvis Presley
17 Heebie Jeebies Little Richard
18 Love Me Elvis Presley
19 Dixie Fried Carl Perkins
20 You Can’t Catch Me Chuck Berry
21 Blue Monday Fats Domino
22 Don’t Knock the Rock Bill Haley and His Comets
23 All Around the World Little Richard
24 Choo Choo Ch’boogie Bill Haley and His Comets
25 The Girl Can’t Help It Little Richard
26 Paralyzed Elvis Presley
27 Jim Dandy Lavern Baker
28 Flying Saucers Rock and Roll Billy Lee Riley & his Little Green Men
29 Ubangi Stomp Warren Smith
30 Train Kept a Rollin Johnny Burnette
31 Ain’t Got No Home Clarence ‘Frogman’ Henry
©2008 Acrobat Music