Acrobat Music

The 1962 British Hit Parade: The B Sides Part 1
The 1962 British Hit Parade: The B Sides Part 1

Various Artists
Styles: British Hit Parades
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7054
Acrobat Music’s series of British Hit Parade collections has become an essential annual purchase for a significant number of collectors and enthusiasts who wish to hear and own every record that entered the British record charts during each year. This year, for the second time, we are presenting parallel collections to the main British Hit Parade releases comprising the ‘B’ sides of all the tracks that appear in the main set. The experiment with the 1961 B sides sets last year proved successful, with a significant take-up from many collectors, so we are continuing the B sides series and hope to work backwards through the years to fill the gaps as well. Part One includes the original ‘B’ sides of every record that entered the charts between 1st January and 3rd May in chronological order of chart entry, mirroring the tracks on Part One of the main 1962 British Hit Parade collection, with nearly four hours of eclectic and fascinating entertainment. The only exceptions are where the original hit was a double ‘A’ side, where both sides charted, as a result of which both of the tracks appear in the main Hit Parade collection. The story of how ‘B’ sides come to be what they are is a fascinating one and varies greatly from record to record. Some featured songs that were written by either the producer, the artist’s manager or someone else with sufficient influence to ensure that if the ‘A’ side were a hit, they would collect 50% of the publishing income from the sales. Others were, of course, complete throwaways, dashed off in the last 10 minutes of a session purely as make-weights. In contrast, some started life as the intended ‘A’ side, only to be overshadowed as promotion people or radio DJs spotted the potential of the ‘B’ side. The fascination is that, in most cases, with the passage of time, we will never know the true story, and the tracks will simply stand to be judged on their merits or otherwise. Whatever the case, they will very often provide collectors with a piece of the artist’s work that they have never heard before, and the majority, we suspect, will never have been available on CD before. The sets as always include our substantial booklets comprising about 10,000 words with commentary on the tracks. We are sure that many purchasers of the main sets will be keen to acquire the ‘B’ sides to ensure the completeness of their collection.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 My World Is Caving In Leroy Van Dyke
2 You're Only Fooling Yourself Doug Sheldon
3 Because Iain Gregory
4 New Orleans Parade Chris Barber's Jazz band
5 We Say Yeah Cliff Richard
6 Popcorn Joe Brown & The Bruvvers
7 Baila La Bamba Chakachas
8 A New Kind Of Lovin' Eden Kane
9 I'm Not Angry Everly Brothers
10 Watch Your Step Adam Faith
11 Ramblin' Round Lonnie Donegan And His Group
12 It Might As Well Be Spring Danny Williams
13 Somebody Else Is Taking My Place Danny Peppermint and the Jumping Jacks
14 Chicken Phil McLean
15 Gypsy Davy Karl Denver
16 Shanghied Burl Ives
17 On The Outside Looking In Carole Deene
18 I'll Walk Beside You Anthony Newley
19 Win Or Lose The Brook Brothers
20 I Missed Me Miki And Griff
21 If My Heart Was A Ship Ken Dodd
22 Red Red Roses Frankie Vaughan
23 Fallen Leaves On The Ground Shane Fenton & The Fentones
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 The Same Old Trouble Don Gibson
2 Is There Anything I Can Do Matt Monro
3 Peppermint Twist (Part 2) Joey Dee and The Starlighters
4 Blue Shadows In The Street The Dave Brubeck Quartet
5 Some Other World Petula Clark
6 So Deep Brenda Lee
7 I Apologise Helen Shapiro
8 If I Could Be With You Kenny Ball & His Jazzmen
9 Winkle Picker Shoes Bernard Cribbins
10 The Majestic Dion
11 Let's Start All Over Again Shirley Bassey
12 Pictures In The Fire Pat Boone
13 Oh, My Love The Allisons
14 This Song Is Just For You Hank Locklin
15 Highland Fling Karl Denver
16 Angelo Russ Conway
17 Crazy Man Don Charles
18 This Time It's Love Brad Newman
19 Honey Girl You're Lonely Tommy Bruce
20 The Girls In Their Summer Dresses Ronnie Carroll
21 Stars Fell On Stockton The Shadows
22 Lost Patrol Johnny Keating
23 The Midnight Theme Johnnie Spence And His Orchestra
24 Dreamy City Lullaby Clinton Ford
25 The Actress Roy Orbison
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 One More Time Sam Cooke
2 I Can't Say Goodbye Bobby Vee
3 Air Mail Special Delivery Gene Pitney
4 Doin' The Twist Emile Ford & the Checkmates
5 Twistin' To The Blues Buddy Greco
6 You Never Talked About Me Del Shannon
7 I'd Like To Know Paul Anka
8 Magic Eyes Billy Fury
9 Heart Of Stone John Leyton
10 In A Persian Market Mr. Acker Bilk
11 Words Of Love Buddy Holly
12 Kissin' In The Kitchen Gene Chandler
13 Dream Girl Bruce Channel
14 Ring-A-Ding Craig Douglas
15 My Girl Josephine Sandy Nelson
16 Theme From Ballad Of A Soldier The Norrie Paramor Orchestra
17 I Would Do Anything For You Nat King Cole
18 In Your Heart Mark Wynter
19 If I Lost Your Love Jimmy Justice
20 Summertime Ricky Nelson
21 Along The Boulevard Joe Loss And His Orchestra
22 If I Could Only Tell You James Darren
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 You Win Again Fats Domino
2 Lover, Come Back To Me Brenda Lee
3 Over The Rainbow Lonnie Donegan
4 Nothing But The Best Frank Sinatra
5 The Lose Your Inhibitions Twist Chubby Checker
6 Why Little Girl Shane Fenton & The Fentones
7 Mexican Divorce The Drifters
8 A Kind Of Loving Danny Williams
9 Sad But True Danny Storm
10 Nautilus B. Bumble and the Stingers
11 I'm A Fool To Want You Ketty Lester
12 Walk With Me Neil Sedaka
13 Lover's Guitar The Fentones
14 Swingin' Together Chubby Checker and Bobby Rydell
15 You'll Never Walk Alone Shirley Bassey
16 Faded Love Leroy Van Dyke
17 Ain't That Better Baby Connie Francis
18 Where's It Gonna Get Me? Shelley Fabares
19 Strange Patsy Cline
20 Lost Patrol The John Barry Seven And Orchestra
21 Travellin' Man Frankie Vaughan
22 My Maryland Terry Lightfoot and his New Orleans Jazzmen
23 Swamp Legend The Countrymen
24 Face To Face Adam Faith
©2008 Acrobat Music