Acrobat Music

The Mose Allison Collection 1956-62
The Mose Allison Collection 1956-62

Mose Allison
Styles: Blues, Jazz
Catalogue Number: ACQCD7078
Mose Allison is an artist who successfully straddled the worlds of jazz, blues and R&B, during a career which has so far encompassed more than six decades. As he himself observed on many occasions, as a white college kid, he was by no means the archetypal blues artist, but he captured the essence of that genre as well as sharing the stage and studio with some of the top names in modern jazz – Al Cohn, Bob Brookmeyer, Stan Getz and Zoot Sims among them. He also influenced a host of emerging blues and rock artists in the late ‘50s with iconic songs like “Parchman Farm” and “Young Man Blues” which bridged the gap to the ‘60s blues and R&B boom. This great value 82-track 4-CD set provides a comprehensive overview of the key first six years of his prolific recording career during which he established his reputation. Presented in chronological order it slects material from just about every notable session he recorded, interspersing his solo blues and jazz album projects with studio sessions and ‘live’ performances with the noted jazz artists mentioned above, including some exhilarating extended pieces. It includes just about every vocal track he recorded during this time, when his recording company saw him more a pure pianist than blues artist. As a result it provides a great showcase for every aspect of his talents as accomplished jazz and blues pianist, whether solo, in his own trio or with other artists’ ensembles, and blues singer and composer.

Disk 1:
Track Title Artist
1 S-H-I-N-E Al Cohn/Bob Brookmeyer Quintet 
2 The Lady Is A Tramp Al Cohn/Bob Brookmeyer Quintet 
3 Chloe Al Cohn/Bob Brookmeyer Quintet 
4 So Far So Good Al Cohn/Bob Brookmeyer Quintet 
5 Bunny Hunch Al Cohn/Bob Brookmeyer Quintet 
6 Polka Dots And Moonbeams Stan Getz Quartet
7 New Ground Mose Allison
8 Train Mose Allison
9 Young Man's Blues  Mose Allison
10 In Salah Mose Allison
11 One Room Country Shack Mose Allison
12 Blueberry Hill Mose Allison
13 Brandy And Beer The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
14 It's A Wonderful World The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
15 Jordu Stan Getz Quartet
16 Bye Bye Blues Stan Getz Quartet
17 Down Beat Stan Getz Quartet
18 Town Mose Allison
19 Carnival Mose Allison
20 Trouble In Mind Mose Allison
Disk 2:
Track Title Artist
1 Lost Mind Mose Allison
2 Parchman Farm Mose Allison
3 Bye Bye Blues Mose Allison
4 Don't Get Around Much Anymore Mose Allison
5 I Hadn't Anyone Till You Mose Allison
6 Baby Let Me Hold Your Hand Mose Allison
7 Stroll Mose Allison
8 Ingenue Mose Allison
9 Old Man John Mose Allison
10 Ramble Mose Allison
11 The Minstrels Mose Allison
12 I Got A Right To Cry Mose Allison
13 Creek Bank Mose Allison
14 Moon And Cypress Mose Allison
15 If You Live Mose Allison
16 Seventh Son Mose Allison
17 Yardbird Suite Mose Allison
18 Lover Come Back To Me The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
19 Wee Dot The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
Disk 3:
Track Title Artist
1 It's Crazy Mose Allison
2 Autumn Song Mose Allison
3 Devil In The Cane Field Mose Allison
4 That's All Right Mose Allison
5 Do Nothing Till You Hear From Me Mose Allison
6 Eyesight To The Blind Mose Allison
7 Groovin' High Mose Allison
8 Barefoot - Dirt Road Mose Allison
9 City Home Mose Allison
10 Gotham Day Mose Allison
11 Gotham Night Mose Allison
12 Baby Please Don't Go Mose Allison
13 Deed I Do Mose Allison
14 Love For Sale Mose Allison
15 Halley's Comet The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
16 Ah Moore The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
17 Just You Just Me The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
18 You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
19 You 'N' Me The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
Disk 4:
Track Title Artist
1 On The Alamo The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
2 The Opener The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
3 Love For Sale The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
4 Mad With You Mose Allison
5 Fool's Paradise Mose Allison
6 I Love The Life I Live Mose Allison
7 You're A Sweetheart Mose Allison
8 Night Ride Mose Allison
9 I Ain't Got Nobody Mose Allison
10 Autumn Leaves The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
11 Morning Fun The Al Cohn/Zoot Sims Quintet
12 V-8 Ford Blues Mose Allison
13 Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone Mose Allison
14 Life Is Suicide Mose Allison
15 Ask Me Nice Mose Allison
16 Hey Good Lookin' Mose Allison
17 Back On The Corner Mose Allison
18 Stand By Mose Allison
19 Your Mind Is On Vacation Mose Allison
20 Meet Me At No Special Place Mose Allison
21 I Don't Worry About A Thing Mose Allison
22 Let Me See Mose Allison
23 It Didn't Turn Out That Way Mose Allison
24 The Song Is Ended Mose Allison
©2008 Acrobat Music